IN SB0001 | 2023 | Regular Session


Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Republican 51-29)
Status: Enrolled on April 18 2023 - 75% progression, died in chamber
Action: 2023-04-20 - Motion to concur filed
Text: Latest bill text (Enrolled) [PDF]


Behavioral health matters. Provides that, subject to certain procedures and requirements, the office of the secretary of family and social services may apply to the United States Department of Health and Human Services: (1) for a Medicaid state plan amendment, a waiver, or an amendment to an existing waiver to require reimbursement for eligible certified community behavioral health clinic services; or (2) to participate in the expansion of a community mental health services demonstration program. Requires the division of mental health and addiction to establish and maintain a help line: (1) to provide confidential emotional support and referrals to certain resources to individuals who call the help line; and (2) that is accessible by calling a toll free telephone number. Establishes the Indiana behavioral health commission (commission) and sets forth the commission's membership. Changes the name of the "9-8-8 crisis hotline center" to "9-8-8 crisis response center". Makes conforming changes.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Pro trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Behavioral health matters.


Sen. Michael Crider [R]Sen. Ed Charbonneau [R]Sen. Ronnie Alting [R]Sen. Kyle Walker [R]
Sen. J.D. Ford [D]Sen. Fady Qaddoura [D]Sen. Vaneta Becker [R]Sen. Susan Glick [R]
Sen. Jean Leising [R]Sen. Jack Sandlin [R]Sen. Jon Ford [R]Sen. Eric Bassler [R]
Sen. Eddie Melton [D]Sen. Lonnie Randolph [D]Sen. Mike Bohacek [R]Sen. David Niezgodski [D]
Sen. Mark Messmer [R]Sen. Linda Rogers [R]Sen. Shelli Yoder [D]Rep. Ann Vermilion [R]
Rep. Sharon Negele [R]Rep. Edward Clere [R]Rep. Steve Bartels [R]Rep. Bradford Barrett [R]
Rep. Dale DeVon [R]Rep. Cindy Ledbetter [R]Rep. Wendy McNamara [R]Rep. Shane Lindauer [R]
Rep. Beau Baird [R]Rep. Elizabeth Rowray [R]Rep. Donna Schaibley [R]Rep. Robert Cherry [R]
Rep. Jennifer Meltzer [R]Rep. Michael Karickhoff [R]Rep. Timothy O'Brien [R]Rep. Ryan Lauer [R]
Rep. Julie Olthoff [R]Rep. Julie McGuire [R]Rep. Dennis Zent [R]Rep. Randall Frye [R]
Rep. Jim Pressel [R]Rep. Harold Slager [R]Rep. Ethan Manning [R]Rep. Karen Engleman [R]
Rep. David Abbott [R]Rep. Robin Shackleford [D]Rep. Mike Andrade [D]Rep. Chuck Goodrich [R]
Rep. Kyle Pierce [R]Rep. Peggy Mayfield [R]Rep. Kendell Culp [R]Rep. Jim Lucas [R]
Rep. Matthew Lehman [R]Rep. Doug Miller [R]Rep. Craig Snow [R]Rep. Craig Haggard [R]
Rep. Earl Harris [D]Rep. Maureen Bauer [D]Rep. Ragen Hatcher [D]Rep. Victoria Garcia Wilburn [D]
Rep. Chris Campbell [D]Rep. Vernon Smith [D]Rep. Pat Boy [D]Rep. Mitch Gore [D]
Rep. Carolyn Jackson [D]Rep. Carey Hamilton [D]Rep. Kyle Miller [D]Rep. Vanessa Summers [D]
Rep. Gregory Porter [D]Rep. Justin Moed [D]Rep. Michelle Davis [R]Rep. Philip GiaQuinta [D]
Rep. Ryan Hatfield [D]Rep. Lindsay Patterson [R]Rep. Cherrish Pryor [D]Rep. Sue Errington [D]
Rep. Rita Fleming [D]Rep. Tonya Pfaff [D]Rep. Becky Cash [R]Rep. Charles Moseley [D]

Roll Calls

2023-04-17 - House - House - Third reading (Y: 96 N: 3 NV: 0 Abs: 1) [PASS]
2023-02-13 - Senate - Senate - Third reading (Y: 49 N: 0 NV: 0 Abs: 1) [PASS]
Senate - Senate - (Y: 46 N: 0 NV: 2 Abs: 2) [PASS]


2023-04-20SenateMotion to concur filed
2023-04-18HouseReturned to the Senate with amendments
2023-04-17HouseRepresentative Moseley added as cosponsor
2023-04-17HouseRule 105.1 suspended
2023-04-17HouseThird reading: passed; Roll Call 421: yeas 96, nays 3
2023-04-13HouseSecond reading: ordered engrossed
2023-04-13HouseRepresentative Cash B added as cosponsor
2023-04-13HouseRule 105.1 suspended
2023-04-11HouseRepresentative Pfaff added as cosponsor
2023-04-11HouseRule 105.1 suspended
2023-04-11HouseCommittee report: do pass, adopted
2023-04-04HouseRepresentative Fleming added as cosponsor
2023-04-04HouseRule 105.1 suspended
2023-04-04HouseReferred to the Committee on Ways and Means pursuant to House Rule 127
2023-04-04HouseCommittee report: amend do pass, adopted
2023-03-30HouseRepresentative Errington added as cosponsor
2023-03-30HouseRule 105.1 suspended
2023-03-20HouseRepresentative Pryor added as cosponsor
2023-03-20HouseRepresentatives Goodrich, Pierce K, Mayfield, Culp K, Lucas, Lehman, Miller D, Snow C, Haggard C, Harris, Bauer M, Hatcher, Garcia Wilburn V, Campbell, Smith, V., Boy, Gore M, Jackson, Hamilton, Miller K, Summers, Porter, Moed, Davis M, GiaQuinta, Hatfield, Patterson L added as cosponsors
2023-03-20HouseRule 105.1 suspended
2023-03-13HouseRepresentatives Barrett, DeVon, Ledbetter C, McNamara, Lindauer, Baird, Rowray E, Schaibley, Cherry, Meltzer J, Karickhoff, O'Brien T, Lauer, Olthoff, McGuire J, Zent, Frye, Pressel, Slager, Manning, Engleman, Abbott D, Shackleford, Andrade M added as cosponsors
2023-03-13HouseRule 105.1 suspended
2023-03-07HouseRepresentative Bartels added as cosponsor
2023-02-28HouseFirst reading: referred to Committee on Public Health
2023-02-14HouseRepresentative Clere added as cosponsor
2023-02-14SenateReferred to the House
2023-02-13SenateSenator Yoder added as coauthor
2023-02-13SenateSenator Rogers added as coauthor
2023-02-13SenateSenator Messmer added as coauthor
2023-02-13SenateCosponsor: Representative Negele
2023-02-13SenateHouse sponsor: Representative Vermilion
2023-02-13SenateThird reading: passed; Roll Call 98: yeas 49, nays 0
2023-02-09SenateSenator Niezgodski added as coauthor
2023-02-09SenateSecond reading: amended, ordered engrossed
2023-02-09SenateAmendment #1 (Crider) prevailed; voice vote
2023-02-07SenateSenator Bohacek added as coauthor
2023-02-06SenateSenator Randolph added as coauthor
2023-02-06SenateCommittee report: amend do pass, adopted
2023-01-26SenateSenator Melton added as coauthor
2023-01-26SenateSenator Bassler added as coauthor
2023-01-23SenateSenator Ford Jon added as coauthor
2023-01-19SenateSenator Sandlin added as coauthor
2023-01-19SenateSenators Becker, Glick, Leising added as coauthors
2023-01-17SenateSenator Qaddoura added as coauthor
2023-01-12SenateSenator Ford J.D. added as coauthor
2023-01-10SenateSenator Walker K added as coauthor
2023-01-10SenateSenator Alting added as third author
2023-01-10SenateSenator Charbonneau added as second author
2023-01-09SenateFirst reading: referred to Committee on Appropriations
2023-01-09SenateAuthored by Senator Crider


Indiana State Sources

Bill Comments