Voter Registration

LegiScan encourages all eligible citizens to register to vote and participate in every available election. The links below go to the official state government sites that allow you to register for your local, state and federal elections; or provide further instructions to verify your registration status.

Online voter registration is offered in most all states, with 11 exceptions where paper or in-person registration is still required (Arkansas, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming).

And notably, North Dakota is the only state that does not have voter registration.

State Voter Registration Sites

Alabama Alaska Arizona
Arkansas California Colorado
Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia
Florida Georgia Hawaii
Idaho Illinois Indiana
Iowa Kansas Kentucky
Louisiana Maine Maryland
Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota
Mississippi Missouri Montana
Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire
New Jersey New Mexico New York
North Carolina North Dakota Ohio
Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania
Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota
Tennessee Texas Utah
Vermont Virginia Washington
West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

Voter Registration Deadlines

Most states require registration prior to election and below is a summary of the in-person registration deadlines; note some states have different voter registration deadlines for online, mailed and in-person registrations; though generally not to exceed 30 days prior to Election Day.

Fifteen states have voter registration deadlines 28-30 days before an election:
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas
Eleven states have voter registration deadlines 20-27 days before an election:
Delaware, Kansas, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Virginia, West Virginia
Four states have voter registration deadlines 1-15 days before an election:
Alabama, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, South Dakota
Twenty states have voter registration available the same day of an election:
California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Additional Resources