Bill Text: TX SR117 | 2017 | 85th Legislature 1st Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: In memory of Ira Elmer Black Jr.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2017-08-10 - Reported enrolled [SR117 Detail]

Download: Texas-2017-SR117-Enrolled.html
  In Memory
  Ira Elmer Black Jr.
         WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens
  of Houston in mourning the loss of Ira Elmer Black Jr., who died
  June 5, 2017, at the age of 85; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. Black was a respected member of the community
  who enriched the lives of others with his wisdom, his generosity,
  and his enthusiasm for living each day to the fullest; and
         WHEREAS, Ira E. Black Jr. was born to Ira E. Black and Ora
  Elizabeth Marshall on June 13, 1931, in Cedar Creek, Texas; he
  joined the United States Air Force in 1952, and over the course of
  his distinguished career, he was stationed in New York,
  California, Nebraska, and Texas; he served with distinction in
  both Vietnam and South Korea, and he retired from the military in
  1972 after 20 years of honorable service; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. Black was a loving father, grandfather, and
  great-grandfather who found joy in spending time with his many
  friends and loved ones; and
         WHEREAS, Ira Black was a man of strength and courage; he
  was devoted to his family and to his friends, and he leaves behind
  memories that will long be cherished by all who were privileged
  to share in his life; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences
  to the bereaved family of Ira Elmer Black Jr.; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas
  Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in
  memory of Ira Black.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on August 10, 2017, by
    a rising vote.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate