Bill Text: MS SC514 | 2022 | Regular Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulate MSU 2021 Baseball Team on National Championship.

Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Republican 18-8)

Status: (Passed) 2022-02-21 - Enrolled Bill Signed [SC514 Detail]

Download: Mississippi-2022-SC514-Enrolled.html


2022 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Harkins, Younger, Williams, Michel, DeBar, Fillingane, Hill, Moran, Caughman, Boyd, Turner-Ford, England, Thompson, Suber, Hickman, McCaughn, Branning, Blount, Sparks, Frazier, Hopson, Horhn, McDaniel, Norwood, Simmons (13th), Thomas

Senate Concurrent Resolution 514

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


     WHEREAS, the baseball game began with a championship title riding on it and ended as a wild, maroon and white celebration.  After 129 years of playing high-quality college baseball, Mississippi State University (MSU) claimed its first National Championship in any team sport.  The Diamond Dogs slammed defending National Champion Vanderbilt 9-0, while more than 20,000 "Bulldog" fans roared their approval; and

     WHEREAS, on June 30, 2021, the Mississippi State University  "Bulldogs" Baseball Team won the 2021 National Collegiate Athletic Association College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska; and

     WHEREAS, by defeating Vanderbilt University 9-0, the Mississippi State University Baseball Team became the first team in Mississippi State University history to win an NCAA National Championship, wrapping it in maroon and white; and

     WHEREAS, the Mississippi State University baseball team has appeared in three consecutive NCAA College World Series, totaling 12 appearances in school history; and

     WHEREAS, on June 20, 2021, the Mississippi State University baseball team recorded 21 strikeouts, which set an NCAA College World Series single-game team record; and

     WHEREAS, Will Bednar was named the 2021 NCAA College World Series Most Outstanding Player; and

     WHEREAS, catcher Logan Tanner, first baseman Luke Hancock, shortstop Lane Forsythe, outfielders Tanner Allen and Rowdey Jordan, and pitcher Will Bednar were named to the 2021 NCAA College World Series All-Tournament Team; and

     WHEREAS, Tanner Allen was named the 2021 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year and the 2021 American Baseball Coaches and Rawlings Sporting Goods National Player of Year; and

     WHEREAS, Head Coach Chris Lemonis was named the 2021 National Coach of the Year by Collegiate Baseball Newspaper; and

     WHEREAS, Chris Lemonis is the first Division I Head Coach to reach the NCAA College World Series in his first two seasons as head coach of a program in the Super Regional era and the fifth all-time in NCAA history; and

     WHEREAS, Dudy Noble Field at Polk-DeMent Stadium on the campus of Mississippi State University holds the NCAA Division I baseball on-campus attendance record and regularly attracts record crowds; and

     WHEREAS, the Mississippi State University baseball team under the leadership of Head Coach Chris Lemonis displayed outstanding dedication, teamwork and sportsmanship throughout the 20202021 season; and

     WHEREAS, the members of the 2021 National Collegiate Baseball Championship Team are:  K.C. Hunt, Scotty Dubrule, Rowdey Jordan, Tanner Allen, Kamren James, Brandon Smith, Drew McGowan, Josh Hatcher, Kellum Clark, Davis Meche, Davis Rokose, Riley Self, Cade Smith, Stone Simmons, Chase Patrick, Logan Tanner, Luke Hancock, Landon Sims, Will Bednar, Kyte McDonald, Xavier Lovett, Jackson Fristoe, Christian MacLeod, Carlisle Koestler, Tanner Leggett, Parker Stinnett, Brad Cumbest, Preston Johnson, Brayland Skinner, Eric Cerantola, Mikey Tepper, Lane Forsythe, Kace Garner, Cam Tullar, Drew Talley, Houston Harding, Brandon Pimentel and Dylan Carmouche; Head Coach, Chris Lemonis; Assistant Coaches, Scott Foxhall and Jake Gautreau; Volunteer Assistant/Camps Coordinator, Kyle Cheesebrough; Coordinator of Operations, Roger Rodeheaver; and Coordinator of Player Development, Tyler Younger; and

     WHEREAS, the Mississippi State University Baseball Team has brought great pride and honor to Mississippi State University,

loyal fans of Mississippi State University, and to the entire State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby congratulate the Mississippi State University "Bulldogs" Baseball Team and Head Coach Chris Lemonis, including the athletes, coaching staff, administration, faculty, students and alumni, on winning the 2021 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Baseball Championship.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we do hereby recognize Mississippi State University for its excellence as an institution of higher education.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to the President of Mississippi State University, Dr. Mark Keenum,

the Athletic Director of Mississippi State University, John Cohen, the Head Coach of the Mississippi State University Baseball Team, Chris Lemonis, the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.