MS HB266 | 2023 | Regular Session


Completed Legislative Action
Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Republican 73-42-2)
Status: Passed on April 20 2023 - 100% progression
Action: 2023-04-20 - Approved by Governor
Text: Latest bill text (Enrolled) [HTML]


An Act To Name The Mississippi Department Of Public Safety Headquarters' Office, Located In Pearl, Rankin County, Mississippi, The "david R. Huggins Headquarters Of The Mississippi Department Of Public Safety"; To Name The Mississippi State Crime Laboratory In Pearl, Rankin County, Mississippi, The "tom Weathersby State Crime Laboratory"; To Require The Department Of Finance And Administration In Conjunction With The Department Of Public Safety To Erect The Proper Lettering Or Signage On The Outdoor Facade Of The Buildings Displaying The Official Names As The "david R. Huggins Headquarters Of The Mississippi Department Of Public Safety" And The "tom Weathersby State Crime Laboratory"; And For Related Purposes.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Pro trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


David R. Huggins and Tom Weathersby; revise names of public buildings to include.


Rep. Nick Bain [R]Rep. Tom Miles [D]Rep. Shane Aguirre [R]Rep. Jeramey Anderson [D]
Rep. Brent Anderson [R]Rep. Otis Anthony [D]Rep. William Arnold [R]Rep. Willie Bailey [D]
Rep. Earle Banks [D]Rep. Shane Barnett [R]Rep. Manly Barton [R]Rep. Donnie Bell [R]
Rep. Christopher Bell [D]Rep. Richard Bennett [R]Rep. Edward Blackmon [D]Rep. Joel Bomgar [R]
Rep. Scott Bounds [R]Rep. Randy Boyd [R]Rep. Andy Boyd [R]Rep. Chris Brown [R]
Rep. Bo Brown [D]Rep. Cedric Burnett [D]Rep. Charles Busby [R]Rep. Larry Byrd [R]
Rep. Billy Calvert [R]Rep. Lester Carpenter [R]Rep. Bryant Clark [D]Rep. Alyce Clarke [D]
Rep. Angela Cockerham [I]Rep. Carolyn Crawford [R]Rep. Sam Creekmore [R]Rep. Dana Criswell [R]
Rep. Ronnie Crudup [D]Rep. Becky Currie [R]Rep. Jerry Darnell [R]Rep. Oscar Denton [D]
Rep. Clay Deweese [R]Rep. Casey Eure [R]Rep. Michael Evans [D]Rep. Bob Evans [D]
Rep. John Faulkner [D]Rep. Kevin Felsher [R]Rep. Kevin Ford [R]Rep. Jill Ford [R]
Rep. Stephanie Foster [D]Rep. Karl Gibbs [D]Rep. Dale Goodin [R]Rep. Jeffrey Guice [R]
Rep. Philip Gunn [R]Rep. Jeff Hale [R]Rep. Greg Haney [R]Rep. Jeffery Harness [D]
Rep. John Hines [D]Rep. Gregory Holloway [D]Rep. Joey Hood [R]Rep. Steve Hopkins [R]
Rep. Kevin Horan [R]Rep. Stephen Horne [R]Rep. Mac Huddleston [R]Rep. Jeffrey Hulum [D]
Rep. Lataisha Jackson [D]Rep. Robert Johnson [D]Rep. Kabir Karriem [D]Rep. Bill Kinkade [R]
Rep. John Lamar [R]Rep. Jon Lancaster [R]Rep. Vince Mangold [R]Rep. Steve Massengill [R]
Rep. Kent McCarty [R]Rep. Hester Jackson-McCray [D]Rep. Missy Warren McGee [R]Rep. Jay McKnight [R]
Rep. Dana Underwood McLean [R]Rep. Doug McLeod [R]Rep. Carl Mickens [D]Rep. Sam Mims [R]
Rep. Ken Morgan [R]Rep. Gene Newman [R]Rep. Karl Oliver [R]Rep. Solomon Osborne [D]
Rep. Jansen Owen [R]Rep. Orlando Paden [D]Rep. Randall Patterson [R]Rep. Bill Pigott [R]
Rep. Daryl Porter [D]Rep. Brent Powell [R]Rep. John Read [R]Rep. Thomas Reynolds [D]
Rep. Rob Roberson [R]Sen. Robin Robinson [R]Rep. Tracey Rosebud [D]Rep. Randal Rushing [R]
Rep. Robert Sanders [D]Rep. Noah Sanford [R]Rep. Donnie Scoggin [R]Rep. Omeria Scott [D]
Rep. Fred Shanks [R]Rep. Troy Smith [R]Rep. De Stamps [D]Rep. Jody Steverson [R]
Rep. Rufus Straughter [D]Rep. Zakiya Summers [D]Rep. Cheikh Taylor [D]Rep. Rickey Thompson [D]
Rep. Joseph Tubb [R]Rep. Mark Tullos [R]Rep. Jerry Turner [R]Rep. Kenneth Walker [D]
Rep. Price Wallace [R]Rep. Percy Watson [D]Rep. Tom Weathersby [R]Rep. Jason White [R]
Rep. Brady Williamson [R]Rep. Lee Yancey [R]Rep. Shanda Yates [I]Rep. Charles Young [D]
Rep. Henry Zuber [R]

Roll Calls

2023-03-28 - House - House Conference Report Adopted (Y: 117 N: 0 NV: 4 Abs: 0) [PASS]
2023-03-28 - Senate - Senate Conference Report Adopted (Y: 50 N: 0 NV: 2 Abs: 0) [PASS]
2023-03-08 - Senate - Senate Passed As Amended (Y: 52 N: 0 NV: 0 Abs: 0) [PASS]
2023-01-12 - House - House Passed As Amended (Y: 116 N: 0 NV: 4 Abs: 0) [PASS]


2023-04-20 Approved by Governor
2023-03-31SenateEnrolled Bill Signed
2023-03-31HouseEnrolled Bill Signed
2023-03-28HouseConference Report Adopted
2023-03-28SenateConference Report Adopted
2023-03-27HouseConference Report Filed
2023-03-27SenateConference Report Filed
2023-03-22SenateConferees Named Fillingane,Sparks,Parks
2023-03-21HouseConferees Named Bain,Miles,Bailey (23rd)
2023-03-14HouseDecline to Concur/Invite Conf
2023-03-13SenateReturned For Concurrence
2023-03-08SenatePassed As Amended
2023-02-28SenateTitle Suff Do Pass As Amended
2023-02-14SenateReferred To Judiciary, Division B
2023-01-13HouseTransmitted To Senate
2023-01-12HousePassed As Amended
2023-01-10HouseTitle Suff Do Pass
2023-01-05HouseReferred To Judiciary B

Mississippi State Sources

Roll Call
Roll Call
Roll Call
Roll Call

Bill Comments