Bill Sponsors: IL SB1226 | 2019-2020 | 101st General Assembly

Bill Title: Reinserts the provisions of the engrossed bill with the following changes. Repeals the State Charter School Commission Fund on October 1, 2020 (rather than July 31, 2020). Provides that, beginning on July 1, 2020 through August 31, 2020, all money in the State Charter School Commission Fund shall be used by the State Board of Education for operational and administrative costs and, on September 1, 2020 (rather than July 1, 2020), in consultation with the State Board, the State Comptroller shall order transferred and the State Treasurer shall transfer all money in the State Charter School Commission Fund to the State Board of Education Special Purpose Trust Fund. Provides that, beginning on July 1, 2020, the State Board of Education may charge a charter school that it authorizes a fee not to exceed 3% of the revenue provided to the school to be used exclusively for covering the cost of authorizing activities; specifies what the authorizing activities may include. Provides that, beginning on the effective date of the amendatory Act, the Commission may not enter into or renew a contract, other than a charter renewal, that expires after July 1, 2020. Until July 1, 2020, allows the State Charter School Commission to hear an appeal on a local board's decision to not renew a charter. Allows the State Board of Education to reverse a local board's decision to revoke or, beginning on July 1, 2020, not renew a charter if certain conditions are met. Requires the State Board to appoint and utilize a hearing officer for those appeals. Provides that if a charter school fails to make payments toward administrative costs, the State Board may withhold State funds from that school until it has made all payments for those costs. Adds an immediate effective date.

Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill

Status: (Passed) 2019-08-23 - Public Act . . . . . . . . . 101-0543 [SB1226 Detail]

Text: Latest bill text (Chaptered) [HTML]


Senator Linda Holmes [D]PrimarySponsored BillsSD-042FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Jacqueline Collins [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-016FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator William Cunningham [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-018FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Paul Schimpf [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-058FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Susan Rezin [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-038FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Dale Fowler [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-059FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Neil Anderson [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-036FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Emanuel Welch [D]PrimarySponsored BillsHD-007FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Will Guzzardi [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-039FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Celina Villanueva [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-011FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Delia Ramirez [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-004FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Rita Mayfield [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-060FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Kelly Cassidy [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-014FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Jonathan Carroll [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-057FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Karina Villa [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-025FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Bob Morgan [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-058FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Tony McCombie [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-071FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Michael Halpin [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-072FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Senator Terri Bryant [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsSD-058FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Dave Severin [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-117FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Michael Marron [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-104FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Sam Yingling [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-062FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Norine Hammond [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-093FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Camille Lilly [D]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-078FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Michael Unes [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-091FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Thomas Bennett [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-106FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative David Welter [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-075FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Patrick Windhorst [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-118FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Charles Meier [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-108FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Daniel Swanson [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-074FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart
Representative Christopher Davidsmeyer [R]CosponsorSponsored BillsHD-100FollowTheMoneyBallotpediaVoteSmart

Social Comments on IL SB1226