US HB40 | 2021-2022 | 117th Congress


Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 196-1)
Status: Introduced on January 4 2021 - 25% progression
Action: 2021-04-14 - Ordered to be Reported (Amended) by the Yeas and Nays: 25 - 17.
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Establishes the Commission to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African Americans. The commission shall examine slavery and discrimination in the colonies and the United States from 1619 to the present and recommend appropriate remedies. The commission shall identify (1) the role of the federal and state governments in supporting the institution of slavery, (2) forms of discrimination in the public and private sectors against freed slaves and their descendants, and (3) lingering negative effects of slavery on living African Americans and society.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Pro trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Commission to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African Americans Act


Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D-TX]Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI]Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]
Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D-NJ]Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL]Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]
Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA]Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ]
Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA]Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]
Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA]
Rep. Ayanna Pressley [D-MA]Rep. Yvette Clarke [D-NY]Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY]Rep. John Sarbanes [D-MD]
Rep. Sanford Bishop [D-GA]Rep. Diana DeGette [D-CO]Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]
Rep. Al Green [D-TX]Rep. Gwen Moore [D-WI]Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC]
Rep. Nikema Williams [D-GA]Rep. Don Beyer [D-VA]Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]
Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D-NY]Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]
Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. Stephen Lynch [D-MA]Rep. Mondaire Jones [D-NY]Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]
Rep. William Keating [D-MA]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]Rep. Lisa Rochester [D-DE]Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]
Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]
Rep. Marilyn Strickland [D-WA]Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon [D-PA]Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D-NY]Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL]
Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY]Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL]
Rep. Val Demings [D-FL]Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA]
Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D-IL]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]Rep. Dina Titus [D-NV]Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]
Rep. Kweisi Mfume [D-MD]Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]Rep. Marcia Fudge [D-OH]Rep. David Scott [D-GA]
Rep. Nanette Barragan [D-CA]Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]Rep. Danny Davis [D-IL]Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA]
Rep. John Larson [D-CT]Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS]Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD]Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL]
Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]Rep. Richard Neal [D-MA]Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ]
Rep. Terri Sewell [D-AL]Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA]Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL]Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA]
Rep. John Yarmuth [D-KY]Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA]Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]
Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT]Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA]Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI]Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA]Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX]
Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA]Rep. Henry Johnson [D-GA]Rep. Marcy Kaptur [D-OH]
Rep. Ilhan Omar [D-MN]Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D-TX]
Rep. Veronica Escobar [D-TX]Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA]Rep. G. Butterfield [D-NC]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]
Rep. Jamaal Bowman [D-NY]Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez [D-NY]Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI]Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA]
Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]Rep. Cori Bush [D-MO]Rep. Linda Sanchez [D-CA]
Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. David Price [D-NC]Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX]
Rep. Ritchie Torres [D-NY]Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA]Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]
Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Katie Porter [D-CA]Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA]Rep. Marie Newman [D-IL]
Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]Rep. Jesus Garcia [D-IL]
Rep. Kaialii Kahele [D-HI]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA]
Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA]Rep. Michael Doyle [D-PA]
Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]Rep. David Trone [D-MD]Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D-CO]Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver [D-MO]Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]Rep. Jennifer Wexton [D-VA]Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]
Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL]Rep. James Clyburn [D-SC]Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D-CT]Rep. Robert Scott [D-VA]
Rep. Andy Kim [D-NJ]Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA]Rep. Sara Jacobs [D-CA]
Rep. Joe Courtney [D-CT]Rep. Jake Auchincloss [D-MA]Rep. Michael San Nicolas [D-GU]Rep. Gregorio Sablan [I-MP]
Rep. Tom Malinowski [D-NJ]Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA]Rep. Deborah Ross [D-NC]Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]
Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI]Rep. Frank Mrvan [D-IN]Rep. Kathy Manning [D-NC]Rep. Mike Levin [D-CA]
Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA]Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux [D-GA]
Rep. Brian Higgins [D-NY]Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA]Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI]Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA]
Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA]Rep. Steny Hoyer [D-MD]Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL]Rep. James Langevin [D-RI]
Rep. James Himes [D-CT]Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX]Rep. Teresa Fernandez [D-NM]Rep. Troy Carter [D-LA]
Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX]Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL]Rep. Ed Case [D-HI]Rep. Melanie Stansbury [D-NM]
Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX]Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL]Rep. Shontel Brown [D-OH]
Rep. Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick [D-FL]


2021-04-14HouseOrdered to be Reported (Amended) by the Yeas and Nays: 25 - 17.
2021-04-13HouseCommittee Consideration and Mark-up Session Held.
2021-04-13HouseSubcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties Discharged.
2021-03-01HouseReferred to the Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties.
2021-01-04HouseReferred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
2021-01-04HouseSponsor introductory remarks on measure. (CR E2)
2021-01-04HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB40 (Same As) 2021-01-25 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary.


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments