US HB3591 | 2017-2018 | 115th Congress


Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 157-1)
Status: Introduced on July 28 2017 - 25% progression
Action: 2017-09-06 - Referred to the Subcommittee on Immigration and Border Security.
Pending: House Subcommittee on Immigration And Border Security Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


American Hope Act of 2017 This bill amends the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 to allow a state to extend higher-education benefits to state residents regardless of whether they are lawfully present in the United States. In addition, the bill requires the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to cancel the removal, and adjust the status, of certain residents who entered the United States as children prior to 2017. An individual whose status has been so adjusted shall be considered to have obtained conditional permanent-resident status, valid for a period of eight years and subject to termination on the basis of specified deportable conduct. In order for an individual's conditional status to become permanent, the individual must timely file with DHS a petition indicating, among other specified information, that the individual has maintained conditional permanent-resident status for at least three years. Any period of time in which the individual was granted deferred action pursuant to the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals policy shall count toward this three-year period. Information furnished by an individual in such a petition may not be used by an officer or employee of the United States to initiate removal proceedings. The bill also: (1) allows DHS to establish a competitive grant program for the provision of nonprofit assistance to eligible applicants for conditional permanent-resident status; (2) establishes the Presidential Award for Business Leadership in Promoting American Citizenship; (3) allows the Department of Education to develop an open-source, electronic English-learning program; (4) specifies requirements related to federal higher-education assistance for individuals with conditional permanent-resident status; and (5) requires the Government Accountability Office to report on specified data related to the bill.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


American Hope Act of 2017


Rep. Luis Gutierrez [D]Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D]Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham [D]
Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D]Rep. Steny Hoyer [D]Rep. Joseph Crowley [D]Rep. Linda Sanchez [D]
Rep. John Conyers [D]Rep. Raul Grijalva [D]Rep. Judy Chu [D]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D]
Rep. Nanette Barragan [D]Rep. Don Beyer [D]Rep. Sanford Bishop [D]Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D]
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D]Rep. Anthony Brown [D]Rep. Julia Brownley [D]Rep. G. Butterfield [D]
Rep. Michael Capuano [D]Rep. Salud Carbajal [D]Rep. Tony Cardenas [D]Rep. Andre Carson [D]
Rep. Kathy Castor [D]Rep. Joaquin Castro [D]Rep. David Cicilline [D]Rep. Katherine Clark [D]
Rep. Yvette Clarke [D]Rep. Lacy Clay [D]Rep. Steve Cohen [D]Rep. Luis Correa [D]
Rep. Joe Courtney [D]Rep. Charlie Crist [D]Rep. Elijah Cummings [D]Rep. Diana DeGette [D]
Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D]Rep. Suzan DelBene [D]Rep. Theodore Deutch [D]Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D]
Rep. Keith Ellison [D]Rep. Anna Eshoo [D]Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D]Rep. Dwight Evans [D]
Rep. Bill Foster [D]Rep. Lois Frankel [D]Rep. Marcia Fudge [D]Rep. Ruben Gallego [D]
Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D]Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D]Rep. Al Green [D]Rep. Gene Green [D]
Rep. Colleen Hanabusa [D]Rep. Alcee Hastings [D]Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D]Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D]
Rep. Jim Costa [D]Rep. Henry Johnson [D]Rep. Marcy Kaptur [D]Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D]
Rep. Ro Khanna [D]Rep. Ruben Kihuen [D]Rep. James Langevin [D]Rep. Barbara Lee [D]
Rep. John Lewis [D]Rep. Ted Lieu [D]Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D]Rep. Ben Lujan [D]
Rep. Sean Maloney [D]Rep. Doris Matsui [D]Rep. Betty McCollum [D]Rep. Donald McEachin [D]
Rep. James McGovern [D]Rep. Jerry McNerney [D]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D]Rep. Grace Meng [D]
Rep. Gwen Moore [D]Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D]Rep. Grace Napolitano [D]Rep. Eleanor Norton [D]
Rep. Frank Pallone [D]Rep. Donald Payne [D]Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D]
Rep. Mark Pocan [D]Rep. Jared Polis [D]Rep. David Price [D]Rep. Mike Quigley [D]
Rep. Jamie Raskin [D]Rep. Raul Ruiz [D]Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D]Rep. Bobby Rush [D]
Rep. Gregorio Sablan [I]Rep. John Sarbanes [D]Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D]Rep. Kurt Schrader [D]
Rep. Robert Scott [D]Rep. Jose Serrano [D]Rep. Carol Shea-Porter [D]Rep. Brad Sherman [D]
Rep. Albio Sires [D]Rep. Adam Smith [D]Rep. Darren Soto [D]Rep. Eric Swalwell [D]
Rep. Mike Thompson [D]Rep. Dina Titus [D]Rep. Paul Tonko [D]Rep. Norma Torres [D]
Rep. Juan Vargas [D]Rep. Marc Veasey [D]Rep. Filemon Vela [D]Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D]
Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D]Rep. Peter Welch [D]Rep. Frederica Wilson [D]Rep. John Yarmuth [D]
Rep. Karen Bass [D]Rep. Emanuel Cleaver [D]Rep. Jared Huffman [D]Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D]
Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D]Rep. Maxine Waters [D]Rep. Rick Larsen [D]Rep. Nita Lowey [D]
Rep. Eliot Engel [D]Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D]Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D]
Rep. Debbie Dingell [D]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D]Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D]
Rep. Mark Takano [D]Rep. Brendan Boyle [D]Rep. John Delaney [D]Rep. Jacky Rosen [D]
Rep. Tom O'Halleran [D]Rep. John Garamendi [D]Rep. Sander Levin [D]Rep. Susan Davis [D]
Rep. Ami Bera [D]Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D]Rep. Seth Moulton [D]Rep. Alma Adams [D]
Rep. James Clyburn [D]Rep. Robin Kelly [D]Rep. Ann Kuster [D]Rep. Terri Sewell [D]
Rep. Timothy Walz [D]Rep. Denny Heck [D]Rep. Tim Ryan [D]Rep. Kathleen Rice [D]
Rep. Louise Slaughter [D]Rep. Niki Tsongas [D]Rep. Richard Nolan [D]Rep. Danny Davis [D]
Rep. John Larson [D]Rep. Donald Norcross [D]


2017-09-06HouseReferred to the Subcommittee on Immigration and Border Security.
2017-07-28HouseReferred to the Committee on the Judiciary, and in addition to the Committee on Education and the Workforce, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned.
2017-07-28HouseReferred to the Committee on the Judiciary, and in addition to the Committee on Education and the Workforce, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned.
2017-07-28HouseIntroduced in House


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments