Bill Text: TX SR47 | 2017 | 85th Legislature 1st Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Recognizing Lupita M. Perez for her work as commander of VFW Post 7473.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2017-07-24 - Reported enrolled [SR47 Detail]

Download: Texas-2017-SR47-Enrolled.html
         WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  recognize Lupita M. Perez for her outstanding service as
  commander of the Sergeant Benito Alaniz Veterans of Foreign Wars
  Post 7473; and
         WHEREAS, In 2005, after serving the nation with distinction
  in the Iraq War, Lupita Perez became the first woman to join Post
  7473; after several years, she began attending statewide
  leadership training to learn how to help the post carry out its
  mission of supporting veterans and providing service to the
  community; and
         WHEREAS, She was soon nominated by her peers to become the
  first woman to serve as the post's commander; under her exemplary
  leadership, the post received All State and All American honors
  for the first time in its history, and it has gone on to garner
  each of these prestigious awards three times under her command; and
         WHEREAS, Lupita Perez has been a groundbreaking commander
  of her Veterans of Foreign Wars post, and it is truly fitting that
  she receive special recognition for her outstanding achievements;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Lupita M. Perez
  on her exceptional work as commander of the Sergeant Benito Alaniz
  Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 7473 and extend to her best wishes
  for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on July 24, 2017.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate