Bill Text: TX HR116 | 2015-2016 | 84th Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Commemorating the 75th anniversary of the founding of the Kilgore College Rangerettes.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 2-0)

Status: (Passed) 2015-02-25 - Reported enrolled [HR116 Detail]

Download: Texas-2015-HR116-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 116
         WHEREAS, The Kilgore College Rangerettes organization is
  marking its 75th anniversary in 2015, and this milestone provides a
  fitting opportunity to honor this beloved Texas institution; and
         WHEREAS, Founded in 1939 to fulfill the twofold purpose of
  attracting more women to the school while also keeping fans in their
  seats during halftime at football games, the precision drill team,
  the first of its kind in the world, was created by physical
  education instructor Gussie Nell Davis; since the retirement of
  Miss Davis in 1979, the Rangerettes have been led by just two
  directors, Deana Covin from 1979 to 1993 and Dana Blair, the current
  director and the first to have also been a Rangerette; in 1948,
  Denard Haden became the team's first choreographer and developed
  innovative patterns and steps that are still used by dance and drill
  teams today; and
         WHEREAS, This elite troupe has delighted audiences
  throughout the nation and abroad in dynamic shows featuring high
  kicks and vintage red, white, and blue costumes; the Rangerettes
  performed at inauguration festivities for Presidents Barack Obama
  and George W. Bush, marched in Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parades, and
  participated in such events as the Chinese New Year celebration in
  Singapore, the Saint Patrick's Day Parade and Lord Mayor's Ball in
  Dublin, Ireland, and Carnival celebrations in Nice, Paris, and
  Cannes, France; and
         WHEREAS, For three-quarters of a century, members of the
  Kilgore College Rangerettes have served as ambassadors for Kilgore
  College and the Lone Star State, and in doing so, they have built
  the group's well-deserved reputation for excellence; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
  Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Kilgore
  College Rangerettes and extend to all those involved with the
  organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the Kilgore College Rangerettes as an expression of
  high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.
Straus Guerra Otto
Allen Guillen Paddie
Alonzo Gutierrez Parker
Alvarado Harless Paul
Anchia Hernandez Peña
Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan
Anderson of McLennan Howard Phillips
Ashby Huberty Pickett
Aycock Hughes Price
Bell Hunter Raney
Blanco Isaac Raymond
Bohac Israel Reynolds
Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle
Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi
Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Burns Keough Rodriguez of Travis
Burrows King of Hemphill Romero, Jr.
Button King of Parker Rose
Canales King of Taylor Sanford
Capriglione King of Uvalde Schaefer
Clardy Klick Schofield
Coleman Koop Shaheen
Collier Krause Sheets
Cook Kuempel Sheffield
Craddick Landgraf Simmons
Crownover Larson Simpson
Dale Laubenberg Smith
Darby Leach Smithee
Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer
Davis of Harris Lozano Springer
Deshotel Lucio III Stephenson
Dukes Márquez Stickland
Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria
Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris
Faircloth McClendon Tinderholt
Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin
Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris
Farney Meyer Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles VanDeaver
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villalba
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White of Bell
Galindo Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler
Geren Murphy Workman
Giddings Murr Wray
Goldman Naishtat Wu
Gonzales Nevárez Zedler
González Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 116 was adopted by the House on February
  19, 2015, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House