Bill Text: TX HR10 | 2013-2014 | 83rd Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Honoring Robert Griffin III for winning the 2011 Heisman Trophy.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 7-0)

Status: (Passed) 2013-03-14 - Reported enrolled [HR10 Detail]

Download: Texas-2013-HR10-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 10
         WHEREAS, Robert Griffin III was named the winner of the 2011
  Heisman Trophy after leading the Baylor University football team to
  one of its best seasons in a quarter-century; and
         WHEREAS, The son of Robert and Jacqueline Griffin, Robert Lee
  Griffin III was raised in Copperas Cove, where he was a standout
  high school athlete in football and in track; opting to attend
  Baylor, he enrolled in the spring of 2008 and immediately proved his
  athletic abilities by earning All-America honors in outdoor track
  during his first semester at the university; in the fall, he was the
  starting quarterback for 11 of 12 games as an 18-year-old freshman;
         WHEREAS, After suffering a knee injury during the 2009
  season, Mr. Griffin returned in 2010, rested and ready; that year,
  he set or tied 11 single-season school records, threw for more than
  3,500 yards and 22 touchdowns, and helped Baylor to attain its first
  bowl-game appearance in more than a decade and a half; in
  recognition of his performance, he was named to the All-Big 12 team
  and won the league's Offensive Player of the Year and Comeback
  Player of the Year awards; and
         WHEREAS, Suiting up as a fourth-year junior in 2011, he began
  by leading Baylor to an opening-game victory against defending Rose
  Bowl champion Texas Christian University and then secured key
  conference wins against Iowa State, Missouri, and Kansas; on
  November 19, in a game that made Baylor history, he threw a
  last-second, 34-yard touchdown pass that enabled the Bears to
  defeat Oklahoma for the first time ever, and the team ended the
  regular season with triumphs against Texas Tech and Texas; in the
  Alamo Bowl, this respected athlete closed out his award-winning
  year on a high note as he and his teammates knocked off Washington
  67-56 in the highest-scoring bowl game in history; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. Griffin is renowned for his speed, accuracy, and
  ability to throw the ball deep; during 2011, he completed 72 percent
  of his passes for nearly 4,300 yards and 37 touchdowns and rushed
  for 699 yards and 10 TDs; and
         WHEREAS, In addition to his success on the gridiron, Mr.
  Griffin excelled in his academic studies at the university, earning
  a degree in political science in 2010 and going on to pursue a
  master's degree in communications; and
         WHEREAS, By winning one of the most important trophies in
  American college sports and sparking the resurgence of the Baylor
  football program, Robert Griffin furthered the Lone Star State's
  exceptional tradition of athletic achievement, and his
  accomplishments will be remembered for years to come; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Robert Griffin III on winning the
  2011 Heisman Trophy and extend to him sincere best wishes for the
  future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Griffin as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.
  J. Davis of Harris
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 10 was adopted by the House on March 12,
  2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House