Bill Text: TX HCR180 | 2019-2020 | 86th Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulating Representative Tom Craddick and Nadine Craddick on their 50th wedding anniversary.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 2-0)

Status: (Passed) 2019-06-14 - Signed by the Governor [HCR180 Detail]

Download: Texas-2019-HCR180-Enrolled.html
  H.C.R. No. 180
         WHEREAS, September 6, 2019, marks the 50th wedding
  anniversary of Representative Tom Craddick and Nadine Craddick, and
  this joyous event provides a fitting opportunity to reflect on
  their remarkable journey together as husband and wife; and
         WHEREAS, Tom Craddick and the former Nadine Nayfa met in the
  library at Texas Tech University, where they both were students;
  Tom earned his bachelor's degree in business and his MBA from Texas
  Tech, and Nadine completed her bachelor's degree in education at
  the university; in 1969, Nadine began teaching while Tom began his
  first term in the Texas House, and as the pair looked forward to
  their September wedding date, they found that the obligations of
  the Texas Legislature can interfere with the best-laid plans; the
  governor called two consecutive special sessions that summer, the
  second of which didn't end until three days after their wedding
  date, and although the ceremony proceeded, their honeymoon was
  delayed; so began their rewarding marriage, and in the years that
  followed, the Craddicks welcomed the arrival of two children,
  Christi and Thomas, while working tirelessly together in behalf of
  their community and the Lone Star State; and
         WHEREAS, Representative Craddick made state history in 2003,
  when he became the first Republican speaker of the House in over 130
  years; he served in that role until 2009, and during his tenure, the
  $10 billion budget shortfall was transformed into a surplus of
  equal size; moreover, the legislature passed landmark tort reform
  and the largest property tax cut in state history; his commitment to
  higher education has greatly benefited such institutions as Midland
  College, The University of Texas Permian Basin, and the Texas Tech
  University Health Sciences Center; in addition, he has helped
  effect far-reaching developments in the areas of energy, health
  care, mental health, transportation infrastructure, and the
  prevention of distracted driving; he is also a respected member of
  the business community as owner of Craddick Properties and
  president of Craddick Incorporated and as a sales representative
  for Anchor Drilling Fluids USA; and
         WHEREAS, Mrs. Craddick has served Midland in a host of
  leadership roles over the years, among them chair of the Midland
  Chamber of Commerce and charter member of the Council Against
  Substance Abuse and the Midland-Odessa Transportation Alliance
  board; furthermore, she helped found Midland County Families in
  Action and was a member of the Midland Hotel/Motel Tax Advisory
  Board; at the state level, she served on the Governor's Commission
  for Women and as First Lady of the Texas House, she raised private
  funds for the renovation of the Speaker's Apartment and Members
  Lounge and oversaw the project; the Texas Historical Commission
  recognized her efforts with the prestigious Chairman's Award; a
  sustaining member of the Republican Women's Club, she has been very
  active in the party, serving as a state delegate since 1971; she is
  employed as vice president and secretary of Craddick Incorporated;
         WHEREAS, Widely admired for their philanthropy, the
  Craddicks have established the Tom and Nadine Craddick Presidential
  Scholarship Endowment at Texas Tech, the Nadine and Tom Craddick
  Distinguished Chair in Medical Science at The University of Texas
  Southwestern Medical Center, and the Nadine Craddick Endowment Fund
  at Midland Memorial Hospital; active in their faith community as
  well, they have received papal recognition as members of the
  Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem; and
         WHEREAS, Through the years, the Craddicks have been blessed
  with three grandchildren, Thomas, Claire, and Catherine; the couple
  enjoy spending time with their cherished family at their Horseshoe
  Bay retreat, and they love to travel, expand their knowledge, and
  explore their love of art; and
         WHEREAS, The half century of marriage that Tom and Nadine
  Craddick have shared is eloquent affirmation of the meaning of
  love, and the strength of their union and of their commitment to the
  greater good is an inspiration to all who know them; now, therefore,
  be it
         RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby congratulate Tom and Nadine Craddick on their 50th wedding
  anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
  happiness; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the Craddicks as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives and Senate.
Bonnen of Brazoria Guillen Oliverson
Allen Gutierrez Ortega
Allison Harless Pacheco
Anchia Harris Paddie
Anderson Hefner Parker
Ashby Hernandez Patterson
Bailes Herrero Paul
Beckley Hinojosa Perez
Bell of Kaufman Holland Phelan
Bell of Montgomery Howard Price
Bernal Huberty Ramos
Biedermann Hunter Raney
Blanco Israel Raymond
Bohac E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds
Bonnen of Galveston J. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez
Bowers Johnson of Harris Romero, Jr.
Buckley Kacal Rose
Bucy King of Hemphill Rosenthal
Burns King of Parker Sanford
Burrows King of Uvalde Schaefer
Button Klick Shaheen
Cain Krause Sheffield
Calanni Kuempel Sherman, Sr.
Canales Lambert Shine
Capriglione Landgraf Smith
Clardy Lang Smithee
Cole Larson Springer
Coleman Leach Stephenson
Collier Leman Stickland
Cortez Longoria Stucky
Cyrier Lopez Swanson
Darby Lozano Talarico
Davis of Dallas Lucio III Thierry
Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria
Dean Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris
Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt
Dominguez Meyer Toth
Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas
Farrar Middleton Turner of Tarrant
Fierro Miller VanDeaver
Flynn Minjarez Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morales White
Geren Morrison Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Wray
Goldman Murphy Wu
González of Dallas Murr Zedler
González of El Paso Neave Zerwas
Goodwin Nevárez Zwiener
Guerra Noble
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 180 was adopted by the House on May
  23, 2019, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 180 was adopted by the Senate on May
  23, 2019, by a viva-voce vote.
  Secretary of the Senate   
  APPROVED: __________________