Bill Text: TX HCR149 | 2019-2020 | 86th Legislature | Introduced

Bill Title: Urging Congress to pass a constitutional amendment abolishing the Electoral College and creating a system for the direct election of presidents by popular vote.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Introduced) 2019-04-08 - Referred to Elections [HCR149 Detail]

Download: Texas-2019-HCR149-Introduced.html
  86R23972 BPG-D
  By: Reynolds H.C.R. No. 149
         WHEREAS, In a democratic election, the candidate who receives
  the most votes should win; and
         WHEREAS, That elementary principle has been undermined in the
  United States, where in two out of the last five elections, the
  Electoral College has awarded the presidency to the candidate who
  was rejected by the majority of voters; in the most recent
  presidential election, the winning candidate received nearly 3
  million fewer votes than the losing candidate, who won a wider
  margin of the popular vote than 10 past presidents; and
         WHEREAS, Candidates with the least votes also won the
  presidential election three times in the 19th century, and such a
  result is likely to happen again in the near future, thanks to an
  antiquated mechanism that subverts the will of the people; a
  vestige of the days when only white male landowners had a voice in
  political life, the Electoral College was written into the
  U.S. Constitution in the course of heated negotiations between more
  heavily populated northern states and more rural southern states;
  designed to protect the power of the elite and the influence of
  slave states, the college is a complicated system under which
  citizens mark their ballots for presidential candidates, but in
  reality, their votes are cast for a slate of electors in their
  respective states, who are actually entrusted with the task of
  choosing the president; and
         WHEREAS, Because the college allocates electors based on each
  state's representation in Congress, it distorts the outcome of
  presidential campaigns; residents of smaller states have a larger
  voice in the results, and today, Wyoming voters exert almost four
  times as much influence as do California voters; moreover, 48
  states and the District of Columbia award electoral votes on a
  winner-take-all basis, so that it makes no difference whether a
  candidate wins a state by a vast or minuscule margin; it is
  technically possible for a candidate to gain the presidency with
  only about 23 percent of the national popular vote; moreover, tens
  of millions of voters are effectively disenfranchised in states
  with a heavy partisan lean, and turnout can be depressed among
  citizens who believe that their vote is wasted; and
         WHEREAS, From its inception, the Electoral College has been a
  source of contention, and over the past two centuries, legislators
  have proposed more than 700 constitutional amendments to reform or
  eliminate it; public support for the system has waxed and waned, but
  for decades, the majority of Americans have expressed opposition to
  it; and
         WHEREAS, The Electoral College is a discredited 18th-century
  relic that violates the principle of one person, one vote; the
  nation's highest office should be awarded on the same basis as every
  other elected position in our democracy; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby respectfully urge the United States Congress to pass a
  constitutional amendment abolishing the Electoral College and
  creating a system for the direct election of presidents by popular
  vote; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That the Texas secretary of state forward official
  copies of this resolution to the president of the United States, to
  the president of the Senate and the speaker of the House of
  Representatives of the United States Congress, and to all the
  members of the Texas delegation to Congress with the request that
  this resolution be entered in the Congressional Record as a
  memorial to the Congress of the United States of America.