Bill Text: TX HCR137 | 2017-2018 | 85th Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Commemorating the 25th anniversary of the unconventional ratification of the 27th Amendment to the United States Constitution.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 2-0)

Status: (Passed) 2017-06-12 - Signed by the Governor [HCR137 Detail]

Download: Texas-2017-HCR137-Enrolled.html
  H.C.R. No. 137
         WHEREAS, May 5, 2017, marks the 25th anniversary of the
  unconventional ratification of the 27th Amendment to the United
  States Constitution; and
         WHEREAS, One of the original 12 amendments submitted,
  pursuant to Article V, to the state legislatures for ratification
  by the First U.S. Congress, in 1789, the 27th Amendment was crafted
  by James Madison of Virginia while he served as a member of the U.S.
  House of Representatives; by the end of 1791, 10 of the 12
  amendments, known collectively as the Bill of Rights, had been
  approved by the requisite three-fourths of the states; the other
  two amendments, one of which pertained to congressional
  compensation, fell by the wayside; and
         WHEREAS, The congressional compensation measure stipulated
  that "No law, varying the compensation for the services of the
  Senators and Representatives, shall take effect, until an election
  of Representatives shall have intervened"; the amendment would thus
  prevent federal lawmakers from immediately benefiting from any pay
  raise they might give themselves, as every representative--and a
  third of the senators--would have to win reelection before they
  could realize a gain; and
         WHEREAS, In 1982, a student at The University of Texas at
  Austin, Gregory Watson, learned about this unratified
  still-pending amendment and concluded that it was eminently
  relevant, Congress having granted itself a substantial pay raise in
  1978 and a special tax break in 1981; he determined that the
  amendment remained viable, and he committed himself to the
  laborious mission of securing its approval; the amendment gradually
  garnered wide public support, and with his dedicated efforts, it
  worked its way through a succession of state legislatures for a
  decade; on May 5, 1992, Alabama became the 38th state to ratify the
  centuries-old measure, thus securing its incorporation as the 27th
  Amendment to the U.S. Constitution some 202 years after it was
  proposed by a Congress that was conducting its business in New York
  City; and
         WHEREAS, A quarter century after its ratification, the 27th
  Amendment remains the most recent amendment to our nation's
  constitution, and it is indeed fitting that its unusual history and
  its significance be recognized; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 85th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby commemorate the 25th anniversary of the ratification of the
  27th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 137 was adopted by the House on May 5,
  2017, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 137 was adopted by the Senate on May
  24, 2017, by the following vote: 31 Yeas, 0 N
  Secretary of the Senate   
  APPROVED: __________________