Bill Text: IN HCR0051 | 2012 | Regular Session | Introduced

Bill Title: Honoring Perry Meridian HS wrestling team, state champions.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2012-03-05 - Returned to the House [HCR0051 Detail]

Download: Indiana-2012-HCR0051-Introduced.html

Introduced Version



        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Perry Meridian High School wrestling team.


    _______________________, read first time and referred to Committee on


Second Regular Session of the 117th General Assembly (2012)


        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Perry Meridian High School wrestling team.

    Whereas, The wrestling team from Perry Meridian High School, Indianapolis, ended another perfect season by winning the 17th annual Indiana High School Athletic Association team wrestling state championship;

    Whereas, The Perry Meridian Falcons defeated Crown Point with a 43-14 victory to secure their second consecutive state team title;

    Whereas, The Perry Meridian Falcons have also finished as runners-up four times - 1991-92, 2001-02, 2003-04, and 2008-09;

    Whereas, Perry Meridian was impressive on the road to victory, as the team advanced to the championship round with a 52-19 quarterfinal victory and a 40-19 semifinals victory;

    Whereas, Coach Jim Tonte has accomplished much during his tenure, providing the guidance and encouragement necessary to help the wrestlers reach their goals; and

    Whereas, It is fitting that special recognition be given to this fine wrestling team for all the hard work and effort put forth in winning their second consecutive state team championship: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives

of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,

the Senate concurring:

    SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the Perry Meridian High School wrestling team, its managers, and its coaches on their excellent season concluding with their second consecutive state championship.
    SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to each wrestler and manager, head coach Jim Tonte, assistant coaches Matt Schoettle, Wes Gibson, and David Walpole, athletic director Mike Sipe, and principal Joan Ellis, and superintendent Dr. Tom Little.