Bill Text: IL HB2829 | 2017-2018 | 100th General Assembly | Engrossed


Bill Title: Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Provides that uninsured operation of a motor vehicle causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or death to another person is a Class 4 felony, with a minimum fine of $10,000 and a driver's license revocation for one year. Provides that a second or subsequent violation of operation of a motor vehicle resulting in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or death to another person is a Class 3 felony, with a minimum fine of $20,000 and a lifetime driving privilege revocation. Provides that if a person convicted of uninsured operation of a motor vehicle resulting in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or death to another person has previously been convicted of one or more violations of driving without liability insurance, a fine of $3,000 (rather than $2,500) shall be imposed. Makes conforming changes.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 2-0)

Status: (Engrossed) 2017-05-26 - Rule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments [HB2829 Detail]

Download: Illinois-2017-HB2829-Engrossed.html



HB2829 EngrossedLRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 AN ACT concerning transportation.
2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
3represented in the General Assembly:
4 Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by changing
5Sections 3-707 and 6-205 as follows:
6 (625 ILCS 5/3-707) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-707)
7 Sec. 3-707. Operation of uninsured motor vehicle - penalty.
8 (a) No person shall operate a motor vehicle unless the
9motor vehicle is covered by a liability insurance policy in
10accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code.
11 (a-5) A person commits the offense of operation of
12uninsured motor vehicle causing great bodily harm, permanent
13disability, or death when the person:
14 (1) operates a motor vehicle in violation of Section
15 7-601 of this Code; and
16 (2) causes, as a proximate result of the person's
17 operation of the motor vehicle, great bodily harm,
18 permanent disability, or death to another person.
19 (a-6) Uninsured operation of a motor vehicle under
20subsection (a-5) is a Class 4 felony with a minimum fine of
21$10,000 A misdemeanor. If a person is convicted of the offense
22of operation of a motor vehicle for a second or subsequent
23violation under subsection (a-5) has previously been convicted

HB2829 Engrossed- 2 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1of 2 or more violations of subsection (a-5) of this Section, he
2or she is guilty of a Class 3 felony, and shall be fined a
3minimum of $20,000. If a person convicted of the offense of
4operation of a motor vehicle under subsection (a-5) has
5previously been convicted of one or more violations or of
6Section 7-601 of this Code, a fine of $3,000 $2,500, in
7addition to any sentence of incarceration, must be imposed.
8 (b) Any person who fails to comply with a request by a law
9enforcement officer for display of evidence of insurance, as
10required under Section 7-602 of this Code, shall be deemed to
11be operating an uninsured motor vehicle.
12 (c) Except as provided in subsections (a-6) and (c-5), any
13operator of a motor vehicle subject to registration under this
14Code who is convicted of violating this Section is guilty of a
15petty offense and shall be required to pay a fine in excess of
16$500, but not more than $1,000, except a person convicted of a
17second third or subsequent violation of this Section shall be
18guilty of a business offense and shall be required to pay a
19fine of $1,000. However, no person charged with violating this
20Section shall be convicted if such person produces in court
21satisfactory evidence that at the time of the arrest the motor
22vehicle was covered by a liability insurance policy in
23accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code. The chief judge of
24each circuit may designate an officer of the court to review
25the documentation demonstrating that at the time of arrest the
26motor vehicle was covered by a liability insurance policy in

HB2829 Engrossed- 3 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code.
2 (c-1) Except for subsection (a-5), a A person convicted of
3violating this Section shall also have his or her driver's
4license, permit, or privileges suspended for 3 months. After
5the expiration of the 3 months, the person's driver's license,
6permit, or privileges shall not be reinstated until he or she
7has paid a reinstatement fee of $100. A person convicted of
8violating subsection (a-5) shall have his or her driver's
9license, permit, or privileges revoked under paragraph 19 of
10subsection (a) of Section 6-205 of this Code. If a person
11violates this Section while his or her driver's license,
12permit, or privileges are suspended under this subsection
13(c-1), his or her driver's license, permit, or privileges shall
14be suspended for an additional 6 months and until he or she
15pays the reinstatement fee.
16 (c-5) A person who (i) has not previously been convicted of
17or received a disposition of court supervision for violating
18this Section and (ii) produces at his or her court appearance
19satisfactory evidence that the motor vehicle is covered, as of
20the date of the court appearance, by a liability insurance
21policy in accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code shall, for
22a violation of this Section, other than a violation of
23subsection (a-5), pay a fine of $100 and receive a disposition
24of court supervision. The person must, on the date that the
25period of court supervision is scheduled to terminate, produce
26satisfactory evidence that the vehicle was covered by the

HB2829 Engrossed- 4 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1required liability insurance policy during the entire period of
2court supervision.
3 An officer of the court designated under subsection (c) may
4also review liability insurance documentation under this
5subsection (c-5) to determine if the motor vehicle is, as of
6the date of the court appearance, covered by a liability
7insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601 of this Code.
8The officer of the court shall also determine, on the date the
9period of court supervision is scheduled to terminate, whether
10the vehicle was covered by the required policy during the
11entire period of court supervision.
12 (d) A person convicted a third or subsequent time of
13violating this Section or a similar provision of a local
14ordinance must give proof to the Secretary of State of the
15person's financial responsibility as defined in Section 7-315.
16The person must maintain the proof in a manner satisfactory to
17the Secretary for a minimum period of 3 years after the date
18the proof is first filed. The Secretary must suspend the
19driver's license of any person determined by the Secretary not
20to have provided adequate proof of financial responsibility as
21required by this subsection.
22(Source: P.A. 99-613, eff. 1-1-17.)
23 (625 ILCS 5/6-205)
24 Sec. 6-205. Mandatory revocation of license or permit;
25Hardship cases.

HB2829 Engrossed- 5 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 (a) Except as provided in this Section, the Secretary of
2State shall immediately revoke the license, permit, or driving
3privileges of any driver upon receiving a report of the
4driver's conviction of any of the following offenses:
5 1. Reckless homicide resulting from the operation of a
6 motor vehicle;
7 2. Violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a
8 similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the
9 offense of operating or being in physical control of a
10 vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or
11 drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any
12 combination thereof;
13 3. Any felony under the laws of any State or the
14 federal government in the commission of which a motor
15 vehicle was used;
16 4. Violation of Section 11-401 of this Code relating to
17 the offense of leaving the scene of a traffic accident
18 involving death or personal injury;
19 5. Perjury or the making of a false affidavit or
20 statement under oath to the Secretary of State under this
21 Code or under any other law relating to the ownership or
22 operation of motor vehicles;
23 6. Conviction upon 3 charges of violation of Section
24 11-503 of this Code relating to the offense of reckless
25 driving committed within a period of 12 months;
26 7. Conviction of any offense defined in Section 4-102

HB2829 Engrossed- 6 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 of this Code;
2 8. Violation of Section 11-504 of this Code relating to
3 the offense of drag racing;
4 9. Violation of Chapters 8 and 9 of this Code;
5 10. Violation of Section 12-5 of the Criminal Code of
6 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 arising from the use of a
7 motor vehicle;
8 11. Violation of Section 11-204.1 of this Code relating
9 to aggravated fleeing or attempting to elude a peace
10 officer;
11 12. Violation of paragraph (1) of subsection (b) of
12 Section 6-507, or a similar law of any other state,
13 relating to the unlawful operation of a commercial motor
14 vehicle;
15 13. Violation of paragraph (a) of Section 11-502 of
16 this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance if
17 the driver has been previously convicted of a violation of
18 that Section or a similar provision of a local ordinance
19 and the driver was less than 21 years of age at the time of
20 the offense;
21 14. Violation of paragraph (a) of Section 11-506 of
22 this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance
23 relating to the offense of street racing;
24 15. A second or subsequent conviction of driving while
25 the person's driver's license, permit or privileges was
26 revoked for reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state

HB2829 Engrossed- 7 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 offense;
2 16. Any offense against any provision in this Code, or
3 any local ordinance, regulating the movement of traffic
4 when that offense was the proximate cause of the death of
5 any person. Any person whose driving privileges have been
6 revoked pursuant to this paragraph may seek to have the
7 revocation terminated or to have the length of revocation
8 reduced by requesting an administrative hearing with the
9 Secretary of State prior to the projected driver's license
10 application eligibility date;
11 17. Violation of subsection (a-2) of Section 11-1301.3
12 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance;
13 18. A second or subsequent conviction of illegal
14 possession, while operating or in actual physical control,
15 as a driver, of a motor vehicle, of any controlled
16 substance prohibited under the Illinois Controlled
17 Substances Act, any cannabis prohibited under the Cannabis
18 Control Act, or any methamphetamine prohibited under the
19 Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act. A
20 defendant found guilty of this offense while operating a
21 motor vehicle shall have an entry made in the court record
22 by the presiding judge that this offense did occur while
23 the defendant was operating a motor vehicle and order the
24 clerk of the court to report the violation to the Secretary
25 of State; .
26 19. Conviction of an offense under subsection (a-5) of

HB2829 Engrossed- 8 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 Section 3-707 of this Code relating to the operation of an
2 uninsured motor vehicle causing great bodily harm,
3 permanent disability, or death to another person. A second
4 or subsequent conviction of an offense under subsection
5 (a-5) of Section 3-707 of this Code shall result in a
6 lifetime revocation of driving privileges.
7 (b) The Secretary of State shall also immediately revoke
8the license or permit of any driver in the following
9situations:
10 1. Of any minor upon receiving the notice provided for
11 in Section 5-901 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 that the
12 minor has been adjudicated under that Act as having
13 committed an offense relating to motor vehicles prescribed
14 in Section 4-103 of this Code;
15 2. Of any person when any other law of this State
16 requires either the revocation or suspension of a license
17 or permit;
18 3. Of any person adjudicated under the Juvenile Court
19 Act of 1987 based on an offense determined to have been
20 committed in furtherance of the criminal activities of an
21 organized gang as provided in Section 5-710 of that Act,
22 and that involved the operation or use of a motor vehicle
23 or the use of a driver's license or permit. The revocation
24 shall remain in effect for the period determined by the
25 court.
26 (c)(1) Whenever a person is convicted of any of the

HB2829 Engrossed- 9 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1offenses enumerated in this Section, the court may recommend
2and the Secretary of State in his discretion, without regard to
3whether the recommendation is made by the court may, upon
4application, issue to the person a restricted driving permit
5granting the privilege of driving a motor vehicle between the
6petitioner's residence and petitioner's place of employment or
7within the scope of the petitioner's employment related duties,
8or to allow the petitioner to transport himself or herself or a
9family member of the petitioner's household to a medical
10facility for the receipt of necessary medical care or to allow
11the petitioner to transport himself or herself to and from
12alcohol or drug remedial or rehabilitative activity
13recommended by a licensed service provider, or to allow the
14petitioner to transport himself or herself or a family member
15of the petitioner's household to classes, as a student, at an
16accredited educational institution, or to allow the petitioner
17to transport children, elderly persons, or persons with
18disabilities who do not hold driving privileges and are living
19in the petitioner's household to and from daycare; if the
20petitioner is able to demonstrate that no alternative means of
21transportation is reasonably available and that the petitioner
22will not endanger the public safety or welfare; provided that
23the Secretary's discretion shall be limited to cases where
24undue hardship, as defined by the rules of the Secretary of
25State, would result from a failure to issue the restricted
26driving permit.

HB2829 Engrossed- 10 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 (1.5) A person subject to the provisions of paragraph 4
2 of subsection (b) of Section 6-208 of this Code may make
3 application for a restricted driving permit at a hearing
4 conducted under Section 2-118 of this Code after the
5 expiration of 5 years from the effective date of the most
6 recent revocation, or after 5 years from the date of
7 release from a period of imprisonment resulting from a
8 conviction of the most recent offense, whichever is later,
9 provided the person, in addition to all other requirements
10 of the Secretary, shows by clear and convincing evidence:
11 (A) a minimum of 3 years of uninterrupted
12 abstinence from alcohol and the unlawful use or
13 consumption of cannabis under the Cannabis Control
14 Act, a controlled substance under the Illinois
15 Controlled Substances Act, an intoxicating compound
16 under the Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act, or
17 methamphetamine under the Methamphetamine Control and
18 Community Protection Act; and
19 (B) the successful completion of any
20 rehabilitative treatment and involvement in any
21 ongoing rehabilitative activity that may be
22 recommended by a properly licensed service provider
23 according to an assessment of the person's alcohol or
24 drug use under Section 11-501.01 of this Code.
25 In determining whether an applicant is eligible for a
26 restricted driving permit under this paragraph (1.5), the

HB2829 Engrossed- 11 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 Secretary may consider any relevant evidence, including,
2 but not limited to, testimony, affidavits, records, and the
3 results of regular alcohol or drug tests. Persons subject
4 to the provisions of paragraph 4 of subsection (b) of
5 Section 6-208 of this Code and who have been convicted of
6 more than one violation of paragraph (3), paragraph (4), or
7 paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 11-501 of this
8 Code shall not be eligible to apply for a restricted
9 driving permit.
10 A restricted driving permit issued under this
11 paragraph (1.5) shall provide that the holder may only
12 operate motor vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock
13 device as required under paragraph (2) of subsection (c) of
14 this Section and subparagraph (A) of paragraph 3 of
15 subsection (c) of Section 6-206 of this Code. The Secretary
16 may revoke a restricted driving permit or amend the
17 conditions of a restricted driving permit issued under this
18 paragraph (1.5) if the holder operates a vehicle that is
19 not equipped with an ignition interlock device, or for any
20 other reason authorized under this Code.
21 A restricted driving permit issued under this
22 paragraph (1.5) shall be revoked, and the holder barred
23 from applying for or being issued a restricted driving
24 permit in the future, if the holder is subsequently
25 convicted of a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, a
26 similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar

HB2829 Engrossed- 12 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 offense in another state.
2 (2) If a person's license or permit is revoked or
3 suspended due to 2 or more convictions of violating Section
4 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local
5 ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or Section 9-3
6 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012,
7 where the use of alcohol or other drugs is recited as an
8 element of the offense, or a similar out-of-state offense,
9 or a combination of these offenses, arising out of separate
10 occurrences, that person, if issued a restricted driving
11 permit, may not operate a vehicle unless it has been
12 equipped with an ignition interlock device as defined in
13 Section 1-129.1.
14 (3) If:
15 (A) a person's license or permit is revoked or
16 suspended 2 or more times due to any combination of:
17 (i) a single conviction of violating Section
18 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a
19 local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense,
20 or Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the
21 Criminal Code of 2012, where the use of alcohol or
22 other drugs is recited as an element of the
23 offense, or a similar out-of-state offense; or
24 (ii) a statutory summary suspension or
25 revocation under Section 11-501.1; or
26 (iii) a suspension pursuant to Section

HB2829 Engrossed- 13 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 6-203.1;
2 arising out of separate occurrences; or
3 (B) a person has been convicted of one violation of
4 subparagraph (C) or (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection
5 (d) of Section 11-501 of this Code, Section 9-3 of the
6 Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012,
7 relating to the offense of reckless homicide where the
8 use of alcohol or other drugs was recited as an element
9 of the offense, or a similar provision of a law of
10 another state;
11 that person, if issued a restricted driving permit, may not
12 operate a vehicle unless it has been equipped with an
13 ignition interlock device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
14 (4) The person issued a permit conditioned on the use
15 of an ignition interlock device must pay to the Secretary
16 of State DUI Administration Fund an amount not to exceed
17 $30 per month. The Secretary shall establish by rule the
18 amount and the procedures, terms, and conditions relating
19 to these fees.
20 (5) If the restricted driving permit is issued for
21 employment purposes, then the prohibition against
22 operating a motor vehicle that is not equipped with an
23 ignition interlock device does not apply to the operation
24 of an occupational vehicle owned or leased by that person's
25 employer when used solely for employment purposes. For any
26 person who, within a 5-year period, is convicted of a

HB2829 Engrossed- 14 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 second or subsequent offense under Section 11-501 of this
2 Code, or a similar provision of a local ordinance or
3 similar out-of-state offense, this employment exemption
4 does not apply until either a one-year period has elapsed
5 during which that person had his or her driving privileges
6 revoked or a one-year period has elapsed during which that
7 person had a restricted driving permit which required the
8 use of an ignition interlock device on every motor vehicle
9 owned or operated by that person.
10 (6) In each case the Secretary of State may issue a
11 restricted driving permit for a period he deems
12 appropriate, except that the permit shall expire within one
13 year from the date of issuance. A restricted driving permit
14 issued under this Section shall be subject to cancellation,
15 revocation, and suspension by the Secretary of State in
16 like manner and for like cause as a driver's license issued
17 under this Code may be cancelled, revoked, or suspended;
18 except that a conviction upon one or more offenses against
19 laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall
20 be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension,
21 or cancellation of a restricted driving permit. The
22 Secretary of State may, as a condition to the issuance of a
23 restricted driving permit, require the petitioner to
24 participate in a designated driver remedial or
25 rehabilitative program. The Secretary of State is
26 authorized to cancel a restricted driving permit if the

HB2829 Engrossed- 15 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 permit holder does not successfully complete the program.
2 However, if an individual's driving privileges have been
3 revoked in accordance with paragraph 13 of subsection (a)
4 of this Section, no restricted driving permit shall be
5 issued until the individual has served 6 months of the
6 revocation period.
7 (c-5) (Blank).
8 (c-6) If a person is convicted of a second violation of
9operating a motor vehicle while the person's driver's license,
10permit or privilege was revoked, where the revocation was for a
11violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the
12Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless
13homicide or a similar out-of-state offense, the person's
14driving privileges shall be revoked pursuant to subdivision
15(a)(15) of this Section. The person may not make application
16for a license or permit until the expiration of five years from
17the effective date of the revocation or the expiration of five
18years from the date of release from a term of imprisonment,
19whichever is later.
20 (c-7) If a person is convicted of a third or subsequent
21violation of operating a motor vehicle while the person's
22driver's license, permit or privilege was revoked, where the
23revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal
24Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the
25offense of reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense,
26the person may never apply for a license or permit.

HB2829 Engrossed- 16 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 (d)(1) Whenever a person under the age of 21 is convicted
2under Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a
3local ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, the
4Secretary of State shall revoke the driving privileges of that
5person. One year after the date of revocation, and upon
6application, the Secretary of State may, if satisfied that the
7person applying will not endanger the public safety or welfare,
8issue a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of
9driving a motor vehicle only between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9
10p.m. or as otherwise provided by this Section for a period of
11one year. After this one-year period, and upon reapplication
12for a license as provided in Section 6-106, upon payment of the
13appropriate reinstatement fee provided under paragraph (b) of
14Section 6-118, the Secretary of State, in his discretion, may
15reinstate the petitioner's driver's license and driving
16privileges, or extend the restricted driving permit as many
17times as the Secretary of State deems appropriate, by
18additional periods of not more than 12 months each.
19 (2) If a person's license or permit is revoked or
20 suspended due to 2 or more convictions of violating Section
21 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local
22 ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or Section 9-3
23 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012,
24 where the use of alcohol or other drugs is recited as an
25 element of the offense, or a similar out-of-state offense,
26 or a combination of these offenses, arising out of separate

HB2829 Engrossed- 17 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 occurrences, that person, if issued a restricted driving
2 permit, may not operate a vehicle unless it has been
3 equipped with an ignition interlock device as defined in
4 Section 1-129.1.
5 (3) If a person's license or permit is revoked or
6 suspended 2 or more times due to any combination of:
7 (A) a single conviction of violating Section
8 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local
9 ordinance or a similar out-of-state offense, or
10 Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the
11 Criminal Code of 2012, where the use of alcohol or
12 other drugs is recited as an element of the offense, or
13 a similar out-of-state offense; or
14 (B) a statutory summary suspension or revocation
15 under Section 11-501.1; or
16 (C) a suspension pursuant to Section 6-203.1;
17 arising out of separate occurrences, that person, if issued
18 a restricted driving permit, may not operate a vehicle
19 unless it has been equipped with an ignition interlock
20 device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
21 (3.5) If a person's license or permit is revoked or
22 suspended due to a conviction for a violation of
23 subparagraph (C) or (F) of paragraph (1) of subsection (d)
24 of Section 11-501 of this Code, or a similar provision of a
25 local ordinance or similar out-of-state offense, that
26 person, if issued a restricted driving permit, may not

HB2829 Engrossed- 18 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 operate a vehicle unless it has been equipped with an
2 ignition interlock device as defined in Section 1-129.1.
3 (4) The person issued a permit conditioned upon the use
4 of an interlock device must pay to the Secretary of State
5 DUI Administration Fund an amount not to exceed $30 per
6 month. The Secretary shall establish by rule the amount and
7 the procedures, terms, and conditions relating to these
8 fees.
9 (5) If the restricted driving permit is issued for
10 employment purposes, then the prohibition against driving
11 a vehicle that is not equipped with an ignition interlock
12 device does not apply to the operation of an occupational
13 vehicle owned or leased by that person's employer when used
14 solely for employment purposes. For any person who, within
15 a 5-year period, is convicted of a second or subsequent
16 offense under Section 11-501 of this Code, or a similar
17 provision of a local ordinance or similar out-of-state
18 offense, this employment exemption does not apply until
19 either a one-year period has elapsed during which that
20 person had his or her driving privileges revoked or a
21 one-year period has elapsed during which that person had a
22 restricted driving permit which required the use of an
23 ignition interlock device on every motor vehicle owned or
24 operated by that person.
25 (6) A restricted driving permit issued under this
26 Section shall be subject to cancellation, revocation, and

HB2829 Engrossed- 19 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 suspension by the Secretary of State in like manner and for
2 like cause as a driver's license issued under this Code may
3 be cancelled, revoked, or suspended; except that a
4 conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or
5 ordinances regulating the movement of traffic shall be
6 deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension, or
7 cancellation of a restricted driving permit.
8 (d-5) The revocation of the license, permit, or driving
9privileges of a person convicted of a third or subsequent
10violation of Section 6-303 of this Code committed while his or
11her driver's license, permit, or privilege was revoked because
12of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or
13the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless
14homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state, is
15permanent. The Secretary may not, at any time, issue a license
16or permit to that person.
17 (e) This Section is subject to the provisions of the Driver
18License Compact.
19 (f) Any revocation imposed upon any person under
20subsections 2 and 3 of paragraph (b) that is in effect on
21December 31, 1988 shall be converted to a suspension for a like
22period of time.
23 (g) The Secretary of State shall not issue a restricted
24driving permit to a person under the age of 16 years whose
25driving privileges have been revoked under any provisions of
26this Code.

HB2829 Engrossed- 20 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
1 (h) The Secretary of State shall require the use of
2ignition interlock devices for a period not less than 5 years
3on all vehicles owned by a person who has been convicted of a
4second or subsequent offense under Section 11-501 of this Code
5or a similar provision of a local ordinance. The person must
6pay to the Secretary of State DUI Administration Fund an amount
7not to exceed $30 for each month that he or she uses the
8device. The Secretary shall establish by rule and regulation
9the procedures for certification and use of the interlock
10system, the amount of the fee, and the procedures, terms, and
11conditions relating to these fees. During the time period in
12which a person is required to install an ignition interlock
13device under this subsection (h), that person shall only
14operate vehicles in which ignition interlock devices have been
15installed, except as allowed by subdivision (c)(5) or (d)(5) of
16this Section.
17 (i) (Blank).
18 (j) In accordance with 49 C.F.R. 384, the Secretary of
19State may not issue a restricted driving permit for the
20operation of a commercial motor vehicle to a person holding a
21CDL whose driving privileges have been revoked, suspended,
22cancelled, or disqualified under any provisions of this Code.
23 (k) The Secretary of State shall notify by mail any person
24whose driving privileges have been revoked under paragraph 16
25of subsection (a) of this Section that his or her driving
26privileges and driver's license will be revoked 90 days from

HB2829 Engrossed- 21 -LRB100 07390 AXK 17454 b
feedback