Bill Text: IL HB0469 | 2017-2018 | 100th General Assembly | Introduced


Bill Title: Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Provides that vehicles owned and operated by or for a private or public university police department or a private or public college police department, except for motor driven cycles or all-terrain vehicles, shall have permanent vehicle registration plates for a one time fee of $8.00. These registration plates shall contain the designation of "university police" or "college police" and shall be numbered and distributed as prescribed by the Secretary of State.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 8-0)

Status: (Introduced) 2017-03-31 - Rule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee [HB0469 Detail]

Download: Illinois-2017-HB0469-Introduced.html


100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY
State of Illinois
2017 and 2018
HB0469

Introduced , by Rep. Jeanne M Ives

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:
625 ILCS 5/3-808.1 from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-808.1

Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Provides that vehicles owned and operated by or for a private or public university police department or a private or public college police department, except for motor driven cycles or all-terrain vehicles, shall have permanent vehicle registration plates for a one time fee of $8.00. These registration plates shall contain the designation of "university police" or "college police" and shall be numbered and distributed as prescribed by the Secretary of State.
LRB100 05405 AXK 15416 b

A BILL FOR

HB0469LRB100 05405 AXK 15416 b
1 AN ACT concerning transportation.
2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
3represented in the General Assembly:
4 Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by changing
5Section 3-808.1 as follows:
6 (625 ILCS 5/3-808.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-808.1)
7 Sec. 3-808.1. (a) Permanent vehicle registration plates
8shall be issued, at no charge, to the following:
9 1. Vehicles, other than medical transport vehicles,
10 owned and operated by the State of Illinois or by any State
11 agency financed by funds appropriated by the General
12 Assembly;
13 2. Special disability plates issued to vehicles owned
14 and operated by the State of Illinois or by any State
15 agency financed by funds appropriated by the General
16 Assembly.
17 (b) Permanent vehicle registration plates shall be issued,
18for a one time fee of $8.00, to the following:
19 1. Vehicles, other than medical transport vehicles,
20 operated by or for any county, township or municipal
21 corporation.
22 2. Vehicles owned by counties, townships or municipal
23 corporations for persons with disabilities.

HB0469- 2 -LRB100 05405 AXK 15416 b
1 3. Beginning with the 1991 registration year,
2 county-owned vehicles operated by or for any county sheriff
3 and designated deputy sheriffs. These registration plates
4 shall contain the specific county code and unit number.
5 4. All-terrain vehicles owned by counties, townships,
6 or municipal corporations and used for law enforcement
7 purposes when the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin is
8 accompanied with a letter from the original manufacturer or
9 a manufacturer's franchised dealer stating that this
10 all-terrain vehicle has been converted to a street worthy
11 vehicle that meets the equipment requirements set forth in
12 Chapter 12 of this Code.
13 5. Beginning with the 2001 registration year,
14 municipally-owned vehicles operated by or for any police
15 department. These registration plates shall contain the
16 designation "municipal police" and shall be numbered and
17 distributed as prescribed by the Secretary of State.
18 6. Beginning with the 2014 registration year,
19 municipally owned, fire district owned, or Mutual Aid Box
20 Alarm System (MABAS) owned vehicles operated by or for any
21 fire department, fire protection district, or MABAS. These
22 registration plates shall display the designation "Fire
23 Department" and shall display the specific fire
24 department, fire district, fire unit, or MABAS division
25 number or letter.
26 7. Beginning with the 2017 registration year, vehicles

HB0469- 3 -LRB100 05405 AXK 15416 b
1 that do not require a school bus driver permit under
2 Section 6-104 to operate, and are owned by a public school
3 district from grades K-12 or a public community college.
4 8. Beginning with the 2017 registration year, vehicles
5 of the first division or vehicles of the second division
6 weighing not more than 8,000 pounds that are owned by a
7 medical facility or hospital of a municipality, county, or
8 township.
9 9. Except as provided in paragraph 7 of this subsection
10 (b), beginning with the 2018 registration year, vehicles
11 owned and operated by or for a private or public university
12 police department or a private or public college police
13 department, except for motor driven cycles and all-terrain
14 vehicles. These registration plates shall contain the
15 designation "university police" or "college police" and
16 shall be numbered and distributed as prescribed by the
17 Secretary of State.
18 (b-5) Beginning with the 2016 registration year, permanent
19vehicle registration plates shall be issued for a one-time fee
20of $8.00 to a county, township, or municipal corporation that
21owns or operates vehicles used for the purpose of community
22workplace commuting as defined by the Secretary of State by
23administrative rule. The design and color of the plates shall
24be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The Secretary
25of State may adopt rules to implement this subsection (b-5).
26 (c) Beginning with the 2012 registration year,

HB0469- 4 -LRB100 05405 AXK 15416 b
1county-owned vehicles operated by or for any county sheriff and
2designated deputy sheriffs that have been issued registration
3plates under subsection (b) of this Section shall be exempt
4from any fee for the transfer of registration from one vehicle
5to another vehicle. Each county sheriff shall report to the
6Secretary of State any transfer of registration plates from one
7vehicle to another vehicle operated by or for any county
8sheriff and designated deputy sheriffs. The Secretary of State
9shall adopt rules to implement this subsection (c).
10 (c-5) Beginning with the 2014 registration year,
11municipally owned, fire district owned, or Mutual Aid Box Alarm
12System (MABAS) owned vehicles operated by or for any fire
13department, fire protection district, or MABAS that have been
14issued registration plates under subsection (b) of this Section
15shall be exempt from any fee for the transfer of registration
16from one vehicle to another vehicle. Each fire department, fire
17protection district, of MABAS shall report to the Secretary of
18State any transfer of registration plates from one vehicle to
19another vehicle operated by or for any fire department, fire
20protection district, or MABAS. The Secretary of State shall
21adopt rules to implement this subsection.
22 (d) Beginning with the 2013 registration year,
23municipally-owned vehicles operated by or for any police
24department that have been issued registration plates under
25subsection (b) of this Section shall be exempt from any fee for
26the transfer of registration from one vehicle to another

HB0469- 5 -LRB100 05405 AXK 15416 b
1vehicle. Each municipal police department shall report to the
2Secretary of State any transfer of registration plates from one
3vehicle to another vehicle operated by or for any municipal
4police department. The Secretary of State shall adopt rules to
5implement this subsection (d).
6 (e) Beginning with the 2016 registration year, any vehicle
7owned or operated by a county, township, or municipal
8corporation that has been issued registration plates under this
9Section is exempt from any fee for the transfer of registration
10from one vehicle to another vehicle. Each county, township, or
11municipal corporation shall report to the Secretary of State
12any transfer of registration plates from one vehicle to another
13vehicle operated by or for any county, township, or municipal
14corporation.
15(Source: P.A. 98-436, eff. 1-1-14; 98-1074, eff. 1-1-15;
1699-166, eff. 7-28-15; 99-707, eff. 7-29-16.)
feedback