Bill Text: VA HR595 | 2018 | 1st Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Commending Falmouth Elementary School.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2018-05-30 - Bill text as passed House (HR595ER) [HR595 Detail]

Download: Virginia-2018-HR595-Enrolled.html

Commending Falmouth Elementary School.


Agreed to by the House of Delegates, May 30, 2018

WHEREAS, Falmouth Elementary School, an outstanding public primary school in Stafford County, has helped students achieve academic excellence for 50 years; and

WHEREAS, Falmouth Elementary School traces its history as far back as the late 1800s to the first school in the area, a one-room frame building on the west side of Ingleside Drive near the intersection of Washington Street; and

WHEREAS, to better serve the growing community, larger schools were subsequently built on Carter Street, and the Falmouth Training School opened on Butler Road in the mid-1920s; and

WHEREAS, after Falmouth High School opened in 1931, Falmouth Training School, which is now the C. Ray Grizzle Activity Center, became known as Little Falmouth or Falmouth Elementary School until the 1960s; and

WHEREAS, the modern Falmouth Elementary School opened on Forbes Street in 1968 with Benjamin Carver as its first principal; he was succeeded by Dall Brown, David Conway, Robert Burke, John McCoy, Gayle Thyrring, and current principal Salle Johnakin-Putnam; and

WHEREAS, in 1996, Falmouth Elementary School completed an additional wing with more classrooms, an art room, and a gymnasium, and the school underwent major renovations during the 2011 - 2012 school year to ensure that students have the best possible environment in which to learn and grow; and

WHEREAS, throughout its history, Falmouth Elementary School has helped students build a strong foundation for lifelong learning through its comprehensive curriculum and diverse co-curricular offerings; and

WHEREAS, many Falmouth Elementary School alumni have gone on to achieve state and national recognition, including Olympic gold medalist Mark Lenzi and Michelle Kang, who was named Miss Virginia 1996; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That Falmouth Elementary School hereby be commended on the occasion of its 50th anniversary during the 2017 - 2018 school year; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Sallie Johnakin-Putnam, principal of Falmouth Elementary School, as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the school's unique history and contributions to the youths of Stafford County.