Bill Text: TX HR216 | 2017 | 85th Legislature 1st Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: In memory of Suzanne Coleman of Austin.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 4-0)

Status: (Passed) 2017-08-10 - Reported enrolled [HR216 Detail]

Download: Texas-2017-HR216-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 216
         WHEREAS, A life lived with kindness and purpose drew to a
  close with the passing of noted speechwriter Suzanne Coleman of
  Austin on July 13, 2017, at the age of 70; and
         WHEREAS, The daughter of William Clovis Coleman and Amelia
  Lary Coleman, Suzanne Coleman was born in Fort Worth on December 24,
  1946; she graduated from Paschal High School and completed her
  bachelor's degree in political science and history at Texas
  Christian University, where she was a member of Kappa Alpha Theta;
  subsequently, she earned a master's degree in political science
  from The University of Texas at Arlington and pursued doctoral
  studies at Rice University, but she left academia to volunteer in
  the gubernatorial primary campaign of Frances Tarlton "Sissy"
  Farenthold; and
         WHEREAS, Ms. Coleman forged a remarkable career in politics,
  employing her skill as a wordsmith to support enduring democratic
  values; she gained wide recognition as chief speechwriter for Ann
  W. Richards, channeling the charismatic governor's bold, witty
  speaking style and helping elevate simple stories from everyday
  life into moving commentary that evoked a sense of community;
  empathetic as well as eloquent, she was equally adept at crafting
  the penetrating one-liner and gracefully revealing the sentimental
  streak that she and the governor shared; those for whom she wrote
  also included two University of Texas System officials, chancellor
  Mark G. Yudof and executive vice chancellor for health affairs
  Dr. Kenneth Shine; and
         WHEREAS, The devoted partner of Mary Jane Leahy, whom she met
  in 1989, Ms. Coleman relished their trips to New Mexico and their
  political discussions, the latter not least when they took place
  over a special and lengthy meal; and
         WHEREAS, Suzanne Coleman created a powerful legacy through
  her words, all chosen with the utmost care, and those she has left
  behind will forever cherish their memories of her wisdom,
  integrity, thoughtfulness, and wonderfully wry sense of humor; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of
  Suzanne Coleman and extend sincere condolences to the members of
  her family: to her partner, Mary Jane Leahy; to her cousins, Mary
  Land, Melinda Lary-Smith, Lee Ann O'Loughlin, and Amelia Ann Kerby
  Haltom and her son, Kerby; to her treasured friend, Mimi Purnell;
  and to all those who mourn her passing; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
  Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Suzanne
  Rodriguez of Travis
Straus Goldman Oliverson
Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega
Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie
Alvarado Gooden Parker
Anchia Guerra Paul
Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez
Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan
Arévalo Hefner Phillips
Ashby Hernandez Pickett
Bailes Herrero Price
Bell Hinojosa Raney
Bernal Holland Raymond
Biedermann Howard Reynolds
Blanco Huberty Rinaldi
Bohac Hunter Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett Johnson of Dallas Romero, Jr.
Burns Johnson of Harris Rose
Burrows Kacal Sanford
Button Keough Schaefer
Cain King of Hemphill Schofield
Canales King of Parker Schubert
Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen
Clardy Klick Sheffield
Coleman Koop Shine
Collier Krause Simmons
Cook Kuempel Smithee
Cortez Lambert Springer
Cosper Landgraf Stephenson
Craddick Lang Stickland
Cyrier Larson Stucky
Dale Laubenberg Swanson
Darby Leach Thierry
Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris
Dean Lucio III Tinderholt
Deshotel Martinez Turner
Dukes Metcalf Uresti
Dutton Meyer VanDeaver
Elkins Miller Villalba
Faircloth Minjarez Vo
Fallon Moody Walle
Farrar Morrison White
Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson
Frank Murphy Workman
Frullo Murr Wray
Geren Neave Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez Zedler
Giddings Oliveira Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 216 was unanimously adopted by a rising
  vote of the House on August 10, 2017.
  Chief Clerk of the House