Bill Text: SC S0777 | 2023-2024 | 125th General Assembly | Introduced

Bill Title: Kershaw County Women in Leadership

Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Republican 30-16)

Status: (Passed) 2023-05-04 - Introduced and adopted [S0777 Detail]

Download: South_Carolina-2023-S0777-Introduced.html
2023-2024 Bill 777 Text of Previous Version (May. 04, 2023) - South Carolina Legislature Online

South Carolina General Assembly
125th Session, 2023-2024

Bill 777

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)











TO RECOGNIZE AND HONOR the women in leadership in kershaw county.


Whereas, the members of the South Carolina Senate are pleased to recognize Kershaw County Chair Katie Guinn, Camden Mayor Alfred Mae Drakeford, Elgin Mayor Melissa Brazell Emmons, and Bethune Mayor Susan Trimnal Holley for their leadership of Kershaw County; and


Whereas, this is the first time in Kershaw County history that women have occupied the head of the county and of every incorporated area in Kershaw County; and


Whereas, in January of 2023, the Honorable Katie Guinn made history as the first woman to be Kershaw County Council Chair; and


Whereas, Chairwoman Guinn states that women make excellent leaders. They lead with compassion and empathy, are excellent at decision making, and should be in all levels of government and everywhere decisions are being made; and


Whereas, for twenty-six years, the City of Camden has enjoyed the benefit of the commitment, experience, and leadership of the Honorable Alfred Mae Drakeford, mayor of that charming city; and


Whereas, beginning her public service in 2004 as the first African American woman to hold a seat on Camden City Council, Mayor Drakeford served as a member of that body for nineteen years. She was elected mayor of the City of Camden in 2016; and


Whereas, the Honorable Melissa Brazell Emmons was born and raised in Elgin. She attended Midlands Technical College, American Bankers Association, and Francis Marion University. Her background is in finance, having served for eleven years in the private sector and eighteen years as the bookkeeper at Blaney Elementary School in Elgin; and


Whereas, Mayor Emmons served on the town council for eight years before becoming mayor of the Town of Elgin in 2015. She has filled the position of mayor with diligence and distinction, supported by her husband of thirty-five years, Clif Emmons, her two daughters, and her two grandchildren; and


Whereas, the Honorable Susan Trimnal Holley was raised in the town of Bethune. After her education, she began her legal career with an internship and then general practice paralegal work in Florence. Upon her marriage to her high school sweetheart, she moved to Columbia to continue her legal career; and


Whereas, Mayor Holley and her husband returned to Bethune to care for their parents and raise their daughter in their beloved hometown. They dedicated themselves to serving their church and community, and in 2021, Mayor Holley earned a seat on the Bethune Town Council after winning a special election for a vacated seat. Eight months later, she ran for and was elected mayor of Bethune; and


Whereas, these four women together continue to make history with their united leadership over Kershaw County; and


Whereas, the members of the South Carolina Senate greatly appreciate the dedication and commitment that the four women leading Kershaw County and each of its incorporated areas have shown in serving the people and the State of South Carolina along with the positive examples they provide through their service.  Now, therefore,


Be it resolved by the Senate:


That the members of the South Carolina Senate, by this resolution, recognize and honor the women in leadership in Kershaw County.


Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be presented to Katie Guinn, Alfred Mae Drakeford, Melissa Emmons, and Susan Trimnal Holley.


This web page was last updated on May 04, 2023 at 11:26 AM