Bill Text: NJ A5017 | 2018-2019 | Regular Session | Introduced


Bill Title: Establishes penalties for leaving child unattended in motor vehicle.

Spectrum: Moderate Partisan Bill (Democrat 7-1-1)

Status: (Introduced) 2019-02-07 - Introduced, Referred to Assembly Law and Public Safety Committee [A5017 Detail]

Download: New_Jersey-2018-A5017-Introduced.html

ASSEMBLY, No. 5017

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

218th LEGISLATURE

 

INTRODUCED FEBRUARY 7, 2019

 


 

Sponsored by:

Assemblyman  R. BRUCE LAND

District 1 (Atlantic, Cape May and Cumberland)

Assemblyman  MATTHEW W. MILAM

District 1 (Atlantic, Cape May and Cumberland)

 

Co-Sponsored by:

Assemblywoman Murphy, Assemblymen Mazzeo, Armato and Rooney

 

 

 

 

SYNOPSIS

     Establishes penalties for leaving child unattended in motor vehicle.

 

CURRENT VERSION OF TEXT

     As introduced.

  


An Act establishing penalties for leaving a child unattended in a motor vehicle and supplementing Title 39 of the Revised Statutes.

 

     Be It Enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey:

 

1.     a.  No person operating or in control of a motor vehicle shall leave a child under six years of age unattended in the motor vehicle when the motor vehicle is out of the person's sight and under circumstances or conditions which endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the child.

b.     This section shall apply to vehicles on public highways, as defined in section 3 of P.L. 1984, c.73 (C.27:1B-3), and in parking lots.

A person who violates this section shall be subject, for a first offense, to a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500.  For any subsequent violation the person shall be subject to a fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,000.  It is a separate offense for each child left unattended in the motor vehicle.

 

     2.    This act shall take effect immediately.

 

 

STATEMENT

 

     This bill creates penalties for leaving a child under six years of age unattended in a motor vehicle on a public highway or in a parking lot.  A person is subject to these penalties when the motor vehicle is out of the person's sight and under circumstances or conditions which endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the child.  A person who violates the provisions of this bill is subject to a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500 for a first violation and not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for subsequent violations.  It is a separate offense for each child left unattended in the motor vehicle.

     When a child is left in a vehicle alone, even for a short time, the child is in danger of abduction, injury, dehydration, and death.  The temperature inside a car can become dangerously hot.  In the United States between 1998 and 2016, 683 children died from heat stroke after being left unattended in a hot car.  Twelve of those children were from New Jersey.

feedback