Bill Text: NJ A4695 | 2018-2019 | Regular Session | Introduced


Bill Title: Creates offense of making false child abuse report; permits assessment of penalty.

Spectrum: Moderate Partisan Bill (Republican 13-4)

Status: (Introduced) 2018-11-26 - Introduced, Referred to Assembly Judiciary Committee [A4695 Detail]

Download: New_Jersey-2018-A4695-Introduced.html

ASSEMBLY, No. 4695

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

218th LEGISLATURE

 

INTRODUCED NOVEMBER 26, 2018

 


 

Sponsored by:

Assemblyman  ROBERT AUTH

District 39 (Bergen and Passaic)

Assemblywoman  ANGELICA M. JIMENEZ

District 32 (Bergen and Hudson)

Assemblywoman  HOLLY T. SCHEPISI

District 39 (Bergen and Passaic)

 

Co-Sponsored by:

Assemblywoman DiMaso, Assemblymen Clifton, Rooney, DiMaio, Thomson, Dancer, Peters, Peterson, Space, DePhillips, Assemblywomen Handlin, Chaparro, McKnight and Assemblyman Chiaravalloti

 

 

 

 

SYNOPSIS

     Creates offense of making false child abuse report; permits assessment of penalty.

 

CURRENT VERSION OF TEXT

     As introduced.

  


An Act concerning false reports of child abuse and supplementing chapter 6 of Title 9 of the New Jersey Statutes.

 

     Be It Enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey:

 

     1.    a.  A person who knowingly or willfully makes or causes to be made a report of child abuse or neglect pursuant to section 3 of P.L.1971, c.437 (C.9:6-8.10) knowing the report to be false is guilty of a crime of the third degree.

     b.    In addition to any other penalty or fine imposed by the court, a person convicted under the provisions of this act shall be assessed a civil penalty of up to $10,000 payable to the Treasurer of the State of New Jersey for use by the Department of Children and Families.

 

     2.    This act shall take effect immediately.

 

 

STATEMENT

 

     This bill makes it a crime of the third degree to knowingly or willfully make a false report of child abuse.  A crime of the third degree is ordinarily punishable by a term of imprisonment of three to five years, a fine of up to $15,000, or both.

     Also, the bill permits the assessment of an additional civil penalty of up to $10,000, payable to the State Treasurer for use by the Department of Children and Families.

feedback