Bill Text: IL HB0174 | 2019-2020 | 101st General Assembly | Introduced


Bill Title: Amends the Criminal Code of 2012. Provides that the provision of the Code that makes it an offense for a person who possesses or acquires a firearm and thereafter loses the firearm, or if the firearm is stolen from the person, to fail to report the loss or theft to the local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after obtaining knowledge of the loss or theft is a Class 4 felony for a third offense (rather than a Class A misdemeanor) and a Class 3 felony for a fourth or subsequent offense. Effective immediately.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Introduced) 2019-03-29 - Rule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee [HB0174 Detail]

Download: Illinois-2019-HB0174-Introduced.html


101ST GENERAL ASSEMBLY
State of Illinois
2019 and 2020
HB0174

Introduced , by Rep. Rita Mayfield

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:
720 ILCS 5/24-4.1

Amends the Criminal Code of 2012. Provides that the provision of the Code that makes it an offense for a person who possesses or acquires a firearm and thereafter loses the firearm, or if the firearm is stolen from the person, to fail to report the loss or theft to the local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after obtaining knowledge of the loss or theft is a Class 4 felony for a third offense (rather than a Class A misdemeanor) and a Class 3 felony for a fourth or subsequent offense. Effective immediately.
LRB101 04575 SLF 49583 b
CORRECTIONAL BUDGET AND IMPACT NOTE ACT MAY APPLY

A BILL FOR

HB0174LRB101 04575 SLF 49583 b
1 AN ACT concerning criminal law.
2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
3represented in the General Assembly:
4 Section 5. The Criminal Code of 2012 is amended by changing
5Section 24-4.1 as follows:
6 (720 ILCS 5/24-4.1)
7 Sec. 24-4.1. Report of lost or stolen firearms.
8 (a) If a person who possesses a valid Firearm Owner's
9Identification Card and who possesses or acquires a firearm
10thereafter loses the firearm, or if the firearm is stolen from
11the person, the person must report the loss or theft to the
12local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after obtaining
13knowledge of the loss or theft.
14 (b) A law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall take
15a written report and shall, as soon as practical, enter the
16firearm's serial number as stolen into the Law Enforcement
17Agencies Data System (LEADS).
18 (c) A person shall not be in violation of this Section if:
19 (1) the failure to report is due to an act of God, act
20 of war, or inability of a law enforcement agency to receive
21 the report;
22 (2) the person is hospitalized, in a coma, or is
23 otherwise seriously physically or mentally impaired as to

HB0174- 2 -LRB101 04575 SLF 49583 b
1 prevent the person from reporting; or
2 (3) the person's designee makes a report if the person
3 is unable to make the report.
4 (d) Sentence. A person who violates this Section is guilty
5of a petty offense for a first violation. A second or
6subsequent violation of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor.
7A third violation of this Section is a Class 4 felony. A fourth
8or subsequent violation is a Class 3 felony.
9(Source: P.A. 98-508, eff. 8-19-13.)
10 Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
11becoming law.
feedback