ENROLLED ACT NO. 87, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

SIXTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WYOMING 2020 BUDGET SESSION

AN ACT relating to legal time; requiring the state to observe a time zone as specified; establishing a new uniform state time; specifying contingencies; and providing for an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Wyoming:

Section 1. W.S. 8-4-115 is created to read:

8-4-115. Mountain daylight time.

(a) The year-round observed time of the entire state of Wyoming and all of the state's political subdivisions is mountain daylight time. Wyoming exempts all areas of the state from mountain standard time.

(b) As used in this section:

(i) "Mountain daylight time" means the period during a year when mountain standard time is advanced one(1) hour in accordance with 15 U.S.C. § 260a;

(ii) "Mountain standard time" means the observed time assigned to the mountain time zone in 15 U.S.C. § 261.

Section 2.

(a) This act is effective on the first Sunday of November following the day on which both of the following have occurred:

(i) Legislation enacted by the United States congress goes into effect to amend 15 U.S.C. § 260a to authorize states to observe daylight saving time year-round; and

ENGROSSED

ORIGINAL HOUSE BILL NO. <u>HB0044</u>

ENROLLED ACT NO. 87, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

SIXTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WYOMING 2020 BUDGET SESSION

(ii) Not fewer than four (4) western states, including Wyoming, pass legislation to place all or a portion of those states on year-round daylight time, regardless of the time zone.

(b) The governor shall inform the management council of the legislature in writing of the date this bill takes effect in accordance with this section.

(c) As used in this section, "western states" means the states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.

(END)

Speaker of the House

President of the Senate

Governor

TIME APPROVED: _____

DATE APPROVED: _____

I hereby certify that this act originated in the House.

Chief Clerk