LRB-4102/1 EJG:wlj

## 2017 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 73

August 31, 2017 - Introduced by Senators Cowles, Hansen, Lasee, Carpenter, Darling, Larson, Marklein, Olsen, Ringhand, Risser, Shilling, L. Taylor, Vinehout, Vukmir, Wanggaard and Wirch, cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Genrich, Jacque, Kitchens, Macco, Nygren, Steineke, Tauchen, Allen, Anderson, Berceau, E. Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Crowley, Duchow, Edming, Gannon, Hebl, Horlacher, Jagler, Kerkman, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Pope, Pronschinske, Riemer, Ripp, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Zamarripa and Zepnick. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

**Relating to:** commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Green Bay Packers Hall 1  $\mathbf{2}$ of Fame, Inc., and declaring October 21, 2017, Packers Hall of Fame Day. 3 Whereas, the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, Inc., was established in 1967 4 and has been for 50 years an independent not-for-profit organization committed to 5 preserving and advancing the storied history of the Green Bay Packers; and 6 Whereas, the organization supports the historic hall of fame museum that 7 showcases the history of not only the Green Bay Packers, but also the state of 8 Wisconsin as a whole; and 9 Whereas, the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame was the first hall of fame built 10 to honor a single professional American football team; and Whereas, the first inductees into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame were 11 Bernard "Boob" Darling, LaVern "Lavvie" Dilweg, Francis "Jug" Earp, Robert "Cal" 12 13 Hubbard, Earl "Curly" Lambeau, Verne Lewellen, John "Blood" McNally, and August 14 "Mike" Michalske in 1970; and

1	Whereas, other notable players in the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame include
2	Tony Canadeo, Brett Favre, Don Hutson, Bart Starr, Ray Nitschke, and Reggie
3	White; and
4	Whereas, today there are 159 inductees in the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame,
5	with new members inducted annually; and
6	Whereas, the generations of Green Bay Packer athletes, supporters, and fans
7	have instilled the tradition of community and good sportsmanship throughout
8	Wisconsin; and
9	Whereas, on October 21, 2017, we have the privilege of honoring the Green Bay
10	Packers Hall of Fame, Inc., which has continued to support this hallowed Wisconsin
11	tradition; and
12	Whereas, the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame will celebrate its 50th
13	anniversary in 2017; now, therefore, be it
14	Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin
15	Legislature honors and congratulates the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, Inc., for
16	its first 50 years, wishes its continued success for many years to come, and declares
17	October 21, 2017, Packers Hall of Fame Day.
18	(END)