

2011 Senate Joint Resolution 39

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** commending Gateway Technical College on its 100th anniversary.

Whereas, when it was established under the leadership of Governor Francis E. McGovern on July 11, 1911, the Racine Continuation School became the first publicly funded compulsory vocational continuation school in the United States; and

Whereas, the Racine Continuation School first began classes in November 1911; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin Technical College System grew from the success of the Racine Continuation School model; and

Whereas, by 1972, the new state Vocational, Technical, and Adult Education District was established, encompassing Racine County, Kenosha County, and Walworth County, was named the Gateway Technical Institute, and was later renamed Gateway Technical College; and

Whereas, Gateway Technical College now offers more than 65 instructional and career-training programs on its campuses and long-distance learning opportunities, such as online courses, to approximately 29,000 students annually; and

Whereas, Gateway Technical College has worked to increase educational opportunities for all its students by creating transfer agreements with four—year colleges and universities; and

Whereas, Gateway Technical College has played an integral role in developing a skilled workforce throughout its history, and is now providing the education and resources necessary to promote economic recovery and foster economic development; and

Whereas, as it celebrates its 100th anniversary, Gateway Technical College continues to lead the nation in preparing its students for skilled careers; now, therefore, be it

Date

| <b>Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That</b> the legislature commends the good work of the Gateway Technical College and the entire Wisconsin Technical College System, and joins Gateway Technical College in celebrating a century of success. |   |
|--|---|
| Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly   | Senator Michael G. Ellis<br>President of the Senate |
|  |   |

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk