$\begin{array}{c} LRB-2513/2 \\ CMH:skw \end{array}$

2023 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 26

April 14, 2023 - Introduced by Senators Roys, Agard, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Hesselbein, Jacque, Larson, Marklein, Pfaff, Spreitzer and Wirch, cosponsored by Representatives Hong, Stubbs, J. Anderson, C. Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Bare, Cabrera, Behnke, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Drake, Emerson, Green, Jacobson, Joers, Madison, Moore Omokunde, Murphy, Mursau, Neubauer, O'Connor, Palmeri, Ratcliff, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Spiros, Snodgrass, Subeck, Vining and Allen. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

AUTHORS SUBJECT TO CHANGE

1	Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey
2	team on winning the 2023 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National
3	Championship.
4	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team won a
5	record-breaking seventh title after securing the 2023 NCAA Division I Women's
6	Hockey National Championship by defeating the Ohio State Buckeyes 1-0 in the
7	finals of the Frozen Four; and
8	Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team demonstrated exceptional
9	perseverance, talent, and sportsmanship throughout the 2022-23 season; and
10	Whereas, Kirsten Simms scored the winning goal during the first period of the
11	game and goalie Cami Kronish had 31 saves throughout the game to hold the
12	Badgers' 1-0 lead over top-seeded Ohio State; and
13	Whereas, captain Britta Curl is also the first UW women's hockey player to win
14	the first 10 NCAA tournament games in which she played—a historic first for UW
15	and our state; and

Whereas, the team was led by captain Britta Curl and alternate captains Natalie Buchbinder, Jesse Compher, Nicole LaMantia, and Casey O'Brien who were joined by teammates Jane Gervais, Sophie Helgeson, Caroline Harvey, Lacey Eden, Sophie Shirley, Laila Edwards, Grace Shirley, Mayson Toft, Claire Enright, Marianne Picard, Vivian Jungels, Sarah Wozniewicz, Katie Kotlowski, Chayla Edwards, Kirsten Simms, Maddi Wheeler, Cami Kronish, and Chloe Baker; and

Whereas, the team was managed by brilliant coaches and staff, led by head coach Mark Johnson, associate head coach Dan Koch, assistant coach Jackie Crum, volunteer coach Mark Greenhalgh, director of operations/equipment manager Sis Paulsen, athletic trainer Stefanie Arndt, assistant director of brand communications A. J. Harrison, program assistant Eric Steffen, assistant strength and conditioning coach Paul Valukas, video coordinator Justin Kakuska, student athletic trainer Tim Gaffney, and student manager Avery Berry; and

Whereas, the UW-Madison community and our state take pride in the integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in its historic accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team, the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the 2023 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National Championship title and wish the student-athletes, coaches, and staff continued success on and off the ice.