LRB-2687/1 RAC:emw

2021 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 24

April 8, 2021 - Introduced by Senators Roys, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Feyen, Marklein, Bernier, Bewley, Jacque, Ballweg and Ringhand, cosponsored by Representatives Hong, Subeck, Stubbs, Sinicki, S. Rodriguez, Cabrera, Bowen, Hesselbein, Drake, Emerson, Hintz, Vruwink, Milroy, Hebl, Shelton, Tauchen, Shankland, Anderson, Conley, Snodgrass, Mursau, Spreitzer, Brandtjen, Murphy and Thiesfeldt. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

AUTHORS SUBJECT TO CHANGE

T	Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey
2	team for winning the 2021 NCAA Division I National Championship title.
3	Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team once again secured the
4	NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National Championship by defeating the
5	Northeastern Huskies 2-1 in the finals of the Frozen Four tournament; and
6	Whereas, by winning the 2021 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National
7	Championship, the UW-Madison women's hockey team won their sixth overall title,
8	tying Minnesota for the most championships ever; and
9	Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team demonstrated exceptional
10	athletic performances and displayed a remarkable degree of sportsmanship
11	throughout the season; and
12	Whereas, Daryl Watts scored a ricochet goal in overtime to give UW-Madison
13	the championship win; and
14	Whereas, UW-Madison women's hockey had another tremendous season
15	finishing with a record of 28-5-3 for the season; and

Whereas, the team was led by co-captains Grace Bowlby and Brette Pettet, who were joined by teammates Jane Gervais, Natalie Buchbinder, Teagan Grant, Lacey Eden, Dara Greig, Makenna Webster, Sophie Shirley, Delaney Drake, Grace Shirley, Mayson Toft, Caitlin Schneider, Maddie Posick, Britta Curl, Daryl Watts, Nicole LaMantia, Katie Kotlowski, Chayla Edwards, Casey O'Brien, Maddi Wheeler, Kennedy Blair, Cami Kronish, and Breanna Blesi; and Whereas, the team was managed by a brilliant coaching staff, led by Head

Whereas, the team was managed by a brilliant coaching staff, led by Head Coach Mark Johnson, Associate Head Coach Dan Koch, Assistant Coach Jackie Crum, Volunteer Coach Mark Greenhalgh, Athletic Trainer Stefanie Arndt, Strength Coach Jim Snider, Assistant Director of Athletic Communications A. J. Harrison, and Director of Operations/Equipment Manager Sis Paulsen; and

Whereas, the UW-Madison community and the whole state take pride in the integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in its accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the UW-Madison women's hockey team, the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the 2021 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National Championship title and wish the student-athletes continued success in their bright futures.

(END)