1

 $\begin{array}{c} LRB-2247/1 \\ MPG:skw \end{array}$

2021 ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 15

March 17, 2021 - Introduced by Representatives Sanfelippo, Brandtjen, Murphy, Rozar, Thiesfeldt and Tusler. Referred to Committee on Rules.

AUTHORS SUBJECT TO CHANGE

Relating to: directing the Assembly Committee on Campaigns and Elections to

2	investigate the administration of elections in Wisconsin.
3	Whereas, the ability of American citizens to exercise their right to vote is
4	foundational to our representative democracy; and
5	Whereas, the legitimacy of the American form of government depends on the
6	citizens' widespread confidence in the fairness of elections and acceptance of election
7	results; and
8	Whereas, preserving the integrity of the electoral process is one of our
9	government's most important responsibilities; and
10	Whereas, the administration of elections in Wisconsin is governed by an
11	extensive set of duly enacted laws; and
12	Whereas, however, election laws are not self-enforcing but rely on the good
13	faith efforts of election officials to dutifully carry out those laws as written in order
14	to ensure fair elections; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

Whereas, the integrity of our electoral process has been jeopardized by election officials who, either through willful disregard or reckless neglect, have failed to adhere to our election laws by, at various times, ignoring, violating, and encouraging noncompliance with bright-line rules established by the statutes and regulations governing the administration of elections in Wisconsin; and

Whereas, it is the duty of the Wisconsin Legislature to make laws and to exercise its oversight and investigative authority to determine the extent to which elections in Wisconsin have been conducted in compliance with the law; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, That the Wisconsin Assembly hereby directs the Assembly Committee on Campaigns and Elections to investigate the administration of elections in Wisconsin, focusing in particular on elections conducted after January 1, 2019.

14 (END)