

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

## **2017 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 97**

January 17, 2018 - Introduced by Representatives MURPHY, ALLEN, ANDERSON, BALLWEG, BERCEAU, BRANDTJEN, CROWLEY, E. BROOKS, EDMING, HEBL, HESSELBEIN, HINTZ, HUTTON, JACQUE, KERKMAN, KLEEFISCH, KNODL, KOOYENGA, KRUG, LOUDENBECK, MEYERS, MURSAU, NYGREN, OHNSTAD, PETRYK, RODRIGUEZ, ROHRKASTE, SARGENT, SCHRAA, SHANKLAND, SINICKI, SKOWRONSKI, SNYDER, SPIROS, SPREITZER, STEFFEN, SUBECK, SWEARINGEN, TAUCHEN, C. TAYLOR, TITTL, TRANEL, VORPAGEL, VRUWINK, ZAMARRIPA, ZEPNICK and DUCHOW, cosponsored by Senators DARLING, FITZGERALD, BEWLEY, CARPENTER, ERPENBACH, HANSEN, JOHNSON, MARKLEIN, MILLER, MOULTON, NASS, OLSEN, PETROWSKI, RINGHAND, RISSER, STROEBEL, L. TAYLOR, VINEHOUT, VUKMIR, WANGGAARD and WIRCH. Referred to Committee on Rules.

\*\*\*AUTHORS SUBJECT TO CHANGE\*\*\*

1	Relating to: congratulating the 2017 Wisconsin Badgers football team on the
2	impressive accomplishments for this season.
3	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badgers football team
4	completed an undefeated regular season, finishing with 12 wins and no losses, and
5	earned a bid to the Orange Bowl on December 30, 2017; and
6	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badgers became Orange Bowl
7	champions against the Miami Hurricanes with a score of 34 to 24, winning their
8	fourth consecutive bowl game; and
9	Whereas, the 2017 Badgers football team is the winningest in University of
10	Wisconsin–Madison history, being the first to finish the regular football season 12–0,
11	and the first ever to win 13 games in a single season; and
12	Whereas, the Wall Street Journal's annual ranking of top football programs
13	earlier this year singled out the University of Wisconsin-Madison as the number one
14	most admirable football program in the country for overall performance, both on the
15	field of play and as an academic institution; and

1	Whereas, the Badgers earned their second consecutive Big Ten West Division
2	title and 21 players earned All-Big Ten honors including Jonathan Taylor, Beau
3	Benzschawel, Michael Deiter, Troy Fumagalli, T.J. Edwards, D'Cota Dixon, and Nick
4	Nelson receiving First Team Honors; David Edwards, Alec James, Conor Sheehy,
5	Garret Dooley, and Rafael Gaglianone receiving Second Team Honors; Tyler Biadasz
6	and Derrick Tindal receiving Third Team Honors; and Quintez Cephus, Alex
7	Hornibrook, Ryan Connelly, Joe Ferguson, Leon Jacobs, Natrell Jamerson, and Olive
8	Sagapolu receiving Honorable Mention Honors; and
9	Whereas, Joe Ferguson won the Big Ten Sportsmanship Honor for
10	demonstrating a commitment to the community and D'Cota Dixon won the 2017
11	Orange Bowl FWAA Courage Award for overcoming adversity on and off the field;
12	and
13	Whereas, Head Coach Paul Chryst earned Big Ten Coach of the Year and
14	Defensive Coordinator Jim Leonhard was a finalist for the Broyles Award for the best
15	assistant coach in the country; and
16	Whereas, David Edwards and Beau Benzschawel were named Third Team
17	All-American by the Associated Press; and
18	Whereas, T.J. Edwards was named First Team All-American by the Associated
19	Press and was named a finalist for the Butkus Award for the best linebacker in the
20	country; and
21	Whereas, Troy Fumagalli was named the 2017 Big Ten Kwalick-Clark Tight
22	End of the Year, Second Team All-American by the Associated Press, and a finalist
23	for the John Mackey Award for best tight end in the country; and
24	Whereas, Jonathan Taylor was named the 2017 Big Ten Thompson-Randle El
25	Freshman of the Year, Second Team All-American by the Associated Press, was a

2017 - 2018 Legislature - 3 -

1	finalist for the Doak Walker Award for the best running back in the country, and set
2	the NCAA freshman rushing record; and
3	Whereas, the senior class finished their collegiate career with 45 wins, making
4	them the winningest class in school history; and
5	Whereas, the Badgers' 13-member senior class included Jack Cichy, Garret
6	Dooley, Joe Ferguson, Lubern Figaro, Troy Fumagalli, Rachid Ibrahim, Leon Jacobs,
7	Natrell Jamerson, Alec James, Chikwe Obasih, Austin Ramesh, Conor Sheehy and
8	Derrick Tindal; and
9	Whereas, University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank,
10	Athletic Director Barry Alvarez, and Head Coach Paul Chryst have displayed
11	extraordinary leadership in their commitment to student-athletes in both academic
12	and athletic excellence; and now, therefore, be it
13	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
14	Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the entire 2017 Wisconsin Badgers
15	football team on the impressive accomplishments for this season; and, be it further
16	Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint
17	resolution to University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank, Athletic
18	Director Barry Alvarez, and Head Coach Paul Chryst.
19	(END)