

2011 Assembly Joint Resolution 91

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater football team for winning a fourth national championship.

Whereas, the UW–Whitewater Warhawks became the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III champions for the fourth time in five years with a 13–10 victory over Mount Union College on December 16, 2011; and

Whereas, Whitewater has now won three consecutive national championships, extending its winning streak to 45 consecutive games, the longest active streak in the NCAA; and

Whereas, Whitewater, having faced Mount Union in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl for the past seven years, now holds the edge winning four out of seven; and

Whereas, sophomore defensive lineman Loussaint Minett, a Whitewater High School graduate, forced a Mount Union fumble on its own one-yard line, setting up the Whitewater touchdown; and

Whereas, senior punter Kris Rosholt, of Reedsburg, masterfully managed the field position battle by punting six times and repeatedly pinning the opposition deep in its own territory; and

Whereas, senior running back Levell Coppage rushed 32 times for 91 yards and the only Whitewater touchdown of the game; and

Whereas, Coach Lance Leipold has led the team to national championship games in all five of his seasons as head coach; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature do hereby commend the team, the coaching staff, and the UW–Whitewater students for this great achievement and wish them continued success in the future.

Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly