

2023 Assembly Joint Resolution 82

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: condemning Hamas' barbaric attack against Israel.

Whereas, on October 7, 2023, Hamas, a United States-designated Foreign Terrorist Organization, attacked Israel without provocation, murdering innocent civilians in a ground assault and launching more than 4,500 rockets indiscriminately; and

Whereas, this heinous attack by Hamas terrorists resulted in the murder of hundreds of innocent civilians of all ages; and

Whereas, the evil actions of these terrorists resulted in the death of at least 14 innocent Americans, as well as many other foreign nationals; and

Whereas, Hamas terrorists have taken civilians hostage, resulting in the abhorrent and inhumane treatment of innocent people, including many children and elderly people; and

Whereas, this massive act of terrorism took place during Shabbat and the Jewish holidays of Shemini Atzeret/Simchat Torah and one day after the 50th anniversary of the start of the 1973 Yom Kippur War against Israel; and

Whereas, the Israeli people have suffered a violent attack, clearly designed to maximize terror and harm to civilians, resulting in the largest mass slaughter of Jews since the Holocaust; and

Whereas, this attack is yet another instance of the centuries—long persecution and anti–Semitism that Jewish people have suffered; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin State Legislature condemns the actions of Hamas' barbaric attack against Israel; and, be it further

Resolved, That the Wisconsin State Legislature calls on Hamas to immediately cease violent hostilities and return all hostages unharmed; and, be it further

Resolved, That	Wisconsin expresses	its condolences ar	nd support to all	affected families	; and,
be it further					

Resolved, That Wisconsin stands in solidarity with the Israeli people and reaffirms its unwavering commitment to Israel's sovereignty and security.

Senator Chris Kapenga President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Edward A. Blazel Assembly Chief Clerk