

State of Misconsin 2021 - 2022 LEGISLATURE

2021 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 73

August 4, 2021 - Introduced by Representatives Haywood, Cabrera, Andraca, Bowen, Brostoff, Drake, Goyke, Moore Omokunde, L. Myers, Ortiz-Velez, Riemer, S. Rodriguez, Sinicki, Vining, McGuire, Rozar, Milroy, Hebl, Stubbs, Hong, Emerson, Steffen, Spreitzer, Conley, Hesselbein, Kerkman, Shankland, Anderson, Cabral-Guevara, Snodgrass, Neubauer, Pope, Billings, Considine, Doyle, Subeck, Vruwink, Mursau, Shelton and Hintz, cosponsored by Senators Johnson, Carpenter, Larson, L. Taylor, Roys, Bewley, Agard, Jacque, Wirch, Marklein, Pfaff, Ringhand, Ballweg and Darling. Referred to Committee on Rules.

AUTHORS SUBJECT TO CHANGE

1	Relating to: congratulating the Milwaukee Bucks on winning the 2021 NBA
2	Championship.
3	Whereas, on Tuesday, July 20, 2021, the Milwaukee Bucks basketball team won
4	the National Basketball Association (NBA) Championship against the Phoenix Suns
5	(105-98) in the sixth game of the Finals series in the Bucks' new arena, Fiserv
6	Forum, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and
7	Whereas, the Bucks won the fifth game of the Finals series (123-119) in
8	Phoenix, and the third (120-100) and fourth (109-103) games in Milwaukee at
9	Fiserv Forum, climbing back from a two-game loss at the series' start; and
10	Whereas, the Bucks are the second team in NBA history to overcome multiple
11	2–0 series deficits in a single postseason, the fourth team to win three consecutive
12	games after trailing 0–2, and the third to win four straight games to secure the title;
13	and
14	Whereas, the Milwaukee Bucks arrived at the 2021 NBA Finals after winning
15	the Eastern Conference title by defeating the Brooklyn Nets and then the Atlanta

2021 – 2022 Legislature – 2 –

1	Hawks, reversing the previous two seasons in which they lost in the conference
2	semifinals in 2020 and the conference finals in 2019; and
3	Whereas, this year's NBA Finals victory by the Bucks comes 50 years after the
4	franchise achieved the same success in 1971 against the Baltimore Bullets, led by
5	star player, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (née Lew Alcindor); and
6	Whereas, the players of the 2021 Milwaukee Bucks team pushed through the
7	Suns' expert defense, led by the NBA's Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Finals,
8	Giannis Antetokounmpo, at the highest level of expert play along with Khris
9	Middleton, Jrue Holiday, Brook Lopez, and Bobby Portis; and
10	Whereas, Antetokounmpo also won NBA MVP Awards in 2019 and 2020,
11	joining Kareem Abdul–Jabbar and LeBron James as the only players in NBA history
12	to win two MVPs before turning 26, and he also was named the NBA Defensive
13	Player of the Year in 2020, just the third player after Michael Jordan and Hakeem
14	Olajuwon to win these awards in the same season; and
15	Whereas, Antetokounmpo led the Milwaukee Bucks to the 2021 NBA Finals,
16	in which he scored an historic 50 points in the final game, only eight years after being
17	drafted by the Bucks at age 18, having immigrated from Greece where he grew up
18	in a tight-knit family that had struggled to overcome poverty; now be it
19	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
20	Wisconsin Legislature cheered the Milwaukee Bucks to victory on July 20, 2021,
21	along with upwards of a 100,000 fans inside and outside of Milwaukee's Fiserv
22	Forum and fans across Milwaukee and the state, and do hereby heartily congratulate
23	and thank the Milwaukee Bucks, including head coach Mike Budenholzer, Finals
24	MVP Giannis Antetokounmpo, all the Bucks players, and the entire Bucks

- 1 organization for their determination, perseverance, talent, sense of fair team play,
- 2 and loyalty to Milwaukee and to the state of Wisconsin.

(END)

3