

State of Misconsin 2015 - 2016 LEGISLATURE

2015 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 122

April 7, 2016 – Introduced by Representatives SHANKLAND, HINTZ, THIESFELDT, VANDERMEER and ZAMARRIPA, cosponsored by Senator LASSA. Referred to Committee on Rules.

AUTHORS SUBJECT TO CHANGE

1	Relating to: congratulating the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys' varsity
2	basketball team for winning the 2016 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic
3	Association Division I State Championship title.
4	Whereas, the Stevens Point Area Senior High boys' basketball team defeated
5	Muskego High School 89–64 in the Division I State Championship game, winning its
6	second consecutive Division I Wisconsin State Title; and
7	Whereas, by winning the 2016 WIAA Division I State Championship, the
8	Panthers completed a perfect season, finishing with a record of 28-0 and claiming
9	the top spot in the Wisconsin Valley Conference during regular season play for the
10	fourth year in a row; and
11	Whereas, the team has been directed by a dedicated and talented coaching staff,
12	led by head coach Scott Anderson, who was named Wisconsin Valley Conference
13	Coach of the Year for the fourth year in a row and also recognized as the Wisconsin
14	Basketball Coaches Association Coach of the Year; and

2015 – 2016 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, the Panthers were led on the court by seniors Sam Hauser and Trev
2	Anderson, who finished their careers with a 100–6 record over the last four years and
3	shared the 2016 Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Mr. Basketball Award;
4	and
5	Whereas, Sam Hauser, who was also named 2016 Wisconsin Gatorade Player
6	of the Year, will be continuing his athletic and academic career next season at
7	Marquette University, and Trev Anderson, who was named the Associated Press'
8	Player of the Year in Wisconsin and set a SPASH record with 2,299 career points, will
9	be attending the University of Wisconsin–Green Bay to continue his basketball and
10	academic career; and
11	Whereas, Hauser and Anderson were joined by exceptional teammates,
12	including sophomore Joey Hauser, senior Ted Kearney, senior Jamison Kryshak,
13	senior Jake Hofmeister, senior Joe Fasula, senior Mack Journell, senior Evan
14	Mallek, junior Beau Rosenthal, junior Spencer Tyson, junior Keon'te Williams,
15	sophomore Drew Cullen, sophomore Andrew Erdman, and sophomore Drew Blair;
16	and
17	Whereas, off the court, the Panthers prided themselves on their academic work
18	and were recognized as an Academic All–State team for the fifth straight year; and
19	Whereas, the Panthers have personified what it means to be a team and have
20	made the entire community of Stevens Point extremely proud of their
21	accomplishments over the past four years; now, therefore, be it
22	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
23	Wisconsin state legislature commend the Panthers, their coaching staff, and their
24	student athletes on winning the 2016 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association

3

Division I State Championship title and wish continued success to the student
athletes in all their future endeavors.

- 3 -

(END)