

3

7

## State of Misconsin 2021 - 2022 LEGISLATURE

LRB-2894/2 SWB&EKL:kjf

## 2021 ASSEMBLY BILL 458

July 12, 2021 - Introduced by Representatives Bowen, Hong, Anderson, Baldeh, Brostoff, Conley, Emerson, Goyke, Hebl, Moore Omokunde, Neubauer, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Vining and Subeck, cosponsored by Senators Larson, L. Taylor, Agard and Carpenter. Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety.

#### \*\*\*AUTHORS SUBJECT TO CHANGE\*\*\*

- AN ACT to create 20.435 (1) (gd) and 255.20 (4) of the statutes; relating to:
- 2 violence prevention grants and making an appropriation.

#### Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill directs the Department of Health Services to establish a program to award grants to cities and counties to conduct violence prevention programs. Under the bill, the amounts collected from the excise taxes on vapor products are appropriated to fund the grants. The bill also requires DHS to establish a violence prevention grant committee to award the grants.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

# The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

- **SECTION 1.** 20.435 (1) (gd) of the statutes is created to read:
- 4 20.435 (1) (gd) Violence prevention grants. All moneys received from taxes
- 5 imposed and collected under subch. III of ch. 139 with respect to vapor products, as
- defined in s. 139.75 (14), for grants to cities and counties under s. 255.20 (4).
  - **Section 2.** 255.20 (4) of the statutes is created to read:

### **ASSEMBLY BILL 458**

program.

255.20 (4) Establish a program to award grants from the appropriation under
s. $20.435\ (1)\ (gd)$ to cities and counties that apply to conduct violence prevention
programs and establish a violence prevention grant committee in the department to
award the grants under this subsection. Grant applications are due no later than
June 30 of each fiscal year. The committee shall consist of the following members:
(a) The governor, or his or her designee.
(b) The secretary of the department, or his or her designee.
(c) The attorney general, or his or her designee.
(d) The senate majority leader, or his or her designee.
(e) The senate minority leader, or his or her designee.
(f) The assembly majority leader, or his or her designee.
(g) The assembly minority leader, or his or her designee.
(h) A University of Wisconsin System representative who is a violence
prevention specialist.
(i) The director of violence prevention policy and engagement for the Medical
College of Wisconsin Comprehensive Injury Center, or his or her designee.
(j) A public member with experience administering a violence prevention

(END)