Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 995

Relating to: a parental opt-out from face covering requirements in school buildings and on school grounds and requiring school boards to offer pupils a full-time, in-person option.

By Representatives Vos, Steineke, Petersen, Vorpagel, Duchow, James, Born, Knodl, Cabral-Guevara, Zimmerman, Macco, Steffen, Kitchens, Tranel, Novak, Gundrum, Tusler, Thiesfeldt, Kuglitsch, Ramthun, Brandtjen, Summerfield, Dallman, Katsma, Tittl, Dittrich, J. Rodriguez, Oldenburg, VanderMeer, Magnafici, Edming, Pronschinske, Snyder, Brooks, Schraa, Swearingen, Wittke, Moses, Callahan, Rozar, Skowronski, Sortwell, Krug, Spiros, Tauchen, Plumer, Wichgers, Murphy, Loudenbeck, Behnke and Neylon; cosponsored by Senators Kapenga, Jacque, Jagler, Stafsholt, Stroebel, Testin, LeMahieu and Bernier.

February 15, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 16, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
		Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
		Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl,
		Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Penterman.

Appearances For

• Speaker Vos

Appearances Against

• Bryn Horton - Sun Prairie School Board

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Kapenga
- Julaine Appling WI Family Action
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund

Registrations Against

- Dee Pettack DPI
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards

• John Forester - School Administrators Alliance

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 17, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
		Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
		Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,
		Vruwink and L. Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Duchow and Penterman.

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Bill 995** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar and Behnke.
- Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Katie Scott Committee Clerk