Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 831

Relating to: a law enforcement marketing campaign.

By Representatives Rozar, Armstrong, Born, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, James, Kitchens, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, J. Rodriguez, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Swearingen, Sanfelippo and Cabral-Guevara; cosponsored by Senator Jacque.

January 07, 2022	Referred to	o Comm	ittee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety	
January 12, 2022	Public Hearing Held			
	Present:	(13)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Stubbs and Drake.	
	Absent: Excused:	(0) (2)	None. Representatives Krug and Emerson.	

Appearances For

- Representative Donna Rozar 69th Assembly District
- Mike Steffes Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Ryan Windorff WI FOP
- Sheriff Kurt Picknell Badger State Sheriffs & WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Andre Jacque 1st Senate District
- Aaron Chapin Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Steven Conway WI FOP
- Jim Palmer WPPA
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Alice O'Connor WI Professional Police Association

Registrations Against

• None.

<u>Registrations for Information Only</u>
None.

January 18, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug,
		James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
		Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Horlacher.

Moved by Representative McGuire, seconded by Representative Emerson that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (4) Representatives McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.
- Noes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Callahan that **Assembly Bill 831** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.
- Noes: (5) Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk