# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Ways and Means**

### **Assembly Bill 717**

Relating to: an income and franchise tax exemption for restaurant revitalization grants.

By Representatives Wittke, Katsma, Kuglitsch, Macco, Zimmerman, Allen, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Horlacher, Kurtz, Moses, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Penterman, Rozar, Schraa, Snodgrass, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Vruwink, Wichgers, Knodl, Spreitzer and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Wanggaard, Ballweg, Bernier, Darling and Jacque.

November 17, 2021 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

November 30, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Snyder, Dittrich, Ramthun, Brooks,

Armstrong, McGuire, Ohnstad, Riemer and

Conley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Knodl.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Robert Wittke WI 62nd Assembly District
- Kristine Hillmer Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Keith Trafton Wisconsin Resuarant Association
- Chris Wiken Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Joanne Palzkill Wisconsin Restuarant Association

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Eric Knight Associaiton of WI Tourism Attractions & Skiing WI
- Brian Dake WI Independent Businesses
- Kathi Kilgore WI Hotel & Lodging Association
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Catherine McDermott Destinations Wisconsin

#### Registrations Against

None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

### December 08, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Wittke,

Kerkman, Knodl, Snyder, Dittrich, Ramthun, Brooks, Armstrong, McGuire, Ohnstad and

Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Conley.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Dittrich that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Wittke, Kerkman, Knodl, Snyder, Dittrich, Ramthun, Brooks, Armstrong, McGuire,

Ohnstad and Riemer.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Ramthun that **Assembly Bill 717** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives
Wittke, Kerkman, Knodl, Snyder, Dittrich,

Ramthun, Brooks, Armstrong, McGuire,

Ohnstad and Riemer.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Reanna Rasmussen

Committee Clerk