Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 240

Relating to: allocation of federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 funds for a statewide public safety interoperable communication system, emergency services IP network contracts, a geographic information systems database, and psychiatric treatment beds.

By Representatives James, Loudenbeck, Armstrong, Born, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Knodl, Krug, Moses, Mursau, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Rozar, Snyder, Swearingen, Tranel, Vorpagel, Wittke and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Bernier and Felzkowski.

April 02, 2021 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

April 06, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(9)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Vorpagel, Summerfield, Spiros, Brooks,
		Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(4)	Representatives Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Knodl and Schraa.

Appearances For

- Sen. Mary Felzkowski 12th Senate District
- Rep. Jesse James 68th Assembly District
- Rep. Amy Loudenbeck 31st Assembly District
- Chief Steve Hansen State Fire Chiefs and MABIS WI

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- John Cronin 4721 Biltmore Ln
- Chief Matthew Kelm Chippewa Falls Police Dept.
- Toni Simonson HSHS

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 07, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield,
		Spiros, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and
		McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Knodl and Brooks.

Moved by Representative Schraa, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Tauchen, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Bill 240** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (7) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros and Schraa.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 4

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk