## SENATE RESOLUTION 8610

By Senators Mullet, Fain, and Frockt

5

6 7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15 16

17

18

19

20

21

2223

1 WHEREAS, The students of Tahoma High School enrolled in the We 2 the People: The Citizen and Constitution program have exhibited 3 superior knowledge of the Constitution of the United States and the 4 lessons taught by our forefathers; and

WHEREAS, On Saturday, January 7, 2017, the state "We the People" competition was won by the team from Tahoma High School, marking the school's 20th state championship; and

WHEREAS, These students will represent their state at the 30th anniversary "We the People" finals in Washington, D.C., where they will aspire to uphold the standards of excellence for which Tahoma High School is known; and

WHEREAS, These students have immersed themselves in the United States Constitution and Bill of Rights, and their extraordinary understanding of the country's founding documents and principles and formidable debate skills have inspired those who have watched them progress to the level of state champions; and

WHEREAS, The Tahoma team is coached by Gretchen Wulfing, who was named Washington's Civic Educator of the Year in 2011 and who continues to ingrain in her students the importance of learning about American constitutional democracy and the contemporary relevance of the nation's founding documents and principles; and

WHEREAS, Studies have shown that 80 percent of high school seniors in the program are registered to vote, compared to an average

p. 1 8610

of 37 percent among other high school seniors, proof that "We the People" instills greater interest in participating in government; and WHEREAS, Tahoma High School has a distinguished record of excellence in competitions at the national level, placing fourth in the nation in 2000; capturing the Western Regional Award in 2001, б 2008, and 2014; taking the top Unit Two in the Nation Award in 2003; placing in the top ten in 2012 and 2013; and earning the top Unit Five in the Nation Award in 2010 and 2011; and 

WHEREAS, In 2015 the Tahoma team finished fourth in the nation, posting the highest finish in school and state history, and in 2016 Tahoma finished ninth in the nation. Tahoma has now advanced teams to the top ten in the nation four times;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor Zoe Brown, Noah Casey, Jessica Davies, Jonathan Feher, David Ferrer, Jandrea Grobbelaar, Makaila Heifner, Lydia Kropelnicki, Kieran Lowe, Michelle McLoughlin, Rosella Miller, Calista Moore, Taylor Murrey, Cameron Musard, Amber Neathery, Ryan Nelson, Jared Perrine, James Riordan, Peter Seely, Matthew Simmons, Everett Wall, Benjamin Weaver, and Tierra Wilson as "Warriors of the Constitution"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the members of Tahoma High School's "We the People" team, to team advisor Gretchen Wulfing, and to Tahoma High School principal Terry Duty to convey the respect of this body for a job well done and to wish them success in their continuing endeavors.

--- END ---

p. 2 8610