HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2016-4662, by Representatives Chopp, Kristiansen, Appleton, Bergquist, Blake, Buys, Caldier, Chandler, Clibborn, Cody, Condotta, DeBolt, Dent, Dunshee, Dye, Farrell, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Frame, Goodman, Gregerson, Griffey, Haler, Hansen, Hargrove, Harmsworth, Harris, Hawkins, Hayes, Hickel, Holy, Hudgins, S. Hunt, Hurst, Jinkins, Johnson, Kagi, Kilduff, Kirby, Klippert, Kochmar, Kretz, Kuderer, Lytton, MacEwen, Magendanz, Manweller, McBride, McCabe, McCaslin, Moeller, Morris, Moscoso, Muri, Nealey, Orcutt, Ormsby, Ortiz-Self, Orwall, Parker, Peterson, Pettigrew, Pike, Pollet, Reykdal, Riccelli, Robinson, Rodne, Rossetti, Ryu, Santos, Sawyer, Schmick, Scott, Sells, Senn, Shea, Short, Smith, Springer, Stambaugh, Stanford, Stokesbary, Sullivan, Tarleton, Taylor, Tharinger, Van De Wege, Van Werven, Vick, Walkinshaw, Walsh, Wilcox, Wilson, Wylie, Young, and Zeiger

1 WHEREAS, Washington is the only state named for an American 2 president, George Washington, the father of our country, and as such, 3 Washingtonians hold the presidency and presidents in especially high 4 regard; and

5 WHEREAS, Both February 22nd, the actual birthday of President 6 George Washington, and February 12th, the actual birthday of 7 President Abraham Lincoln, were kept and observed until 1971 as the 8 anniversaries of the births of these two great American presidents; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, Washington State and the nation have set aside the third 11 Monday of every February to celebrate George Washington's and Abraham 12 Lincoln's birthdays, as both of these presidents were born in 13 February; and

14 WHEREAS, George Washington led the Revolutionary Army with 15 courage and fortitude and, then serving as the first President of the 16 United States, defined the office and remained ever mindful of his 17 actions and the ramifications carried by his deeds; and

18 WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth president of the United 19 States, architect of the Emancipation Proclamation, and driving force 20 behind the destruction of slavery, preserved the Union in the midst 21 of a terrible civil war which threatened to tear our nation apart; 22 and

p. 1

1 WHEREAS, Although George Washington was unanimously elected to 2 the presidency, he gave himself the simple title of "Mr. President," 3 choosing to be a citizen rather than a king; and

WHEREAS, Although Abraham Lincoln gained the distinction of being a great statesman with impeccable morals, he never lost sight of his humble beginnings or the values he shared with the common man; and

7 WHEREAS, We reflect on all forty-three presidents who guided the 8 country through the obstacles of their day, thereby lifting up the 9 whole nation and leading us all toward a more perfect union; and

10 WHEREAS, We recognize the first ladies of our nation, who have 11 not only provided citizens with role models who exemplify what it 12 means to be an American, but have also served as symbols of strength 13 in times of adversity; and

14 WHEREAS, We recognize the efforts made by the presidents and 15 first ladies to uphold liberty and freedom in the face of tyranny and 16 injustice and reflect on our nation's de facto motto, *E pluribus* 17 *unum*, which means "Out of many, one;"

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this fifteenth day of February 2016, the House of Representatives honor the first and sixteenth presidents of the United States for their immeasurable contributions to, and noble sacrifices for, the causes of liberty, equality, and justice.

--- END ---

p. 2