HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2022-4643, by Representatives Chambers, Robertson, Leavitt, Taylor, J. Johnson, Bronoske, Jacobsen, and Barkis

1 WHEREAS, For eighty-nine years the annual Daffodil Festival has 2 been a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County; and

3 WHEREAS, The Daffodil Festival has been an anticipated event that 4 continues to bring communities together to celebrate unity within our 5 diverse community; and

6 WHEREAS, Since its inception in the 1920s as a modest garden 7 party, it has grown into the festival that we all know and love today 8 and this year celebrates its eighty-ninth anniversary; and

9 WHEREAS, Each year, twenty-three young women pass through a 10 rigorous selection process to represent their schools as well as 11 Pierce County communities through ambassadorship, community service, 12 and civic pride; and

13 WHEREAS, Members of the Daffodil Festival royal court serve as 14 role models for youth around our region. Their volunteerism, civic 15 responsibility, and willingness to be ambassadors for Pierce County 16 serve as a light for youth to look up to; and

WHEREAS, This year's Daffodil Festival royal court includes: Darya Booker, Puyallup High School; Willow Warren, Lakes High School; Kaitlyn Bolland, Bonney Lake High School; Maeson Sterrenburg, Sumner High School; Amber Burgess, Orting High School; Clara Blakeslee, Curtis High School; Julia Schmidt, White River High School; Aiysha Ali, Foss High School; Samantha Calland, Fife High School; Caitlyn Ye, Stadium High School; Andrea Galvin, Silas High School; Julia

p. 1

1 Odhiambo, Rogers High School; Arin Havenstrite, Emerald Ridge High 2 School; Victoria Plom, Franklin Pierce High School; Zana Stewart, Bethel High School; Alexis Powell, Eatonville High School; 3 Isha Hussein, Lincoln High School; Lilly Nonamaker, Clover Park High 4 School; Kaely Harding, Graham Kapowsin High School; Sydney Brickey, 5 6 Spanaway Lake High School; Nakiya-Rene Jastillana, Washington High 7 School; Thien-Ha Ngo, Mount Tahoma High School; and Faith Hudson, Chief Leschi High School. In recognition of the three princesses on 8 the 2021 Daffodil Royal Court who were inadvertently overlooked, we 9 would like to acknowledge: Livy Sanders, Bethel High 10 School; Mackenzie Sunde, Spanaway Lake High School; and Hailee Englehart, 11 12 Emerald Ridge High School;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival, its organizers, and its royal court for the past eighty-nine years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the 2022 Daffodil Festival officers and to the twenty-three members of the 2022 Daffodil Festival royalty.

--- END ---

p. 2