ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2745

State of Washington64th Legislature2016 Regular SessionBy Representatives Fitzgibbon and CodyRead first time 01/20/16.Referred to Committee on Transportation.

1 AN ACT Relating to ferry advisory committees; and amending RCW 2 47.60.310.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

4 Sec. 1. RCW 47.60.310 and 2010 c 8 s 10020 are each amended to 5 read as follows:

6 (1) The department is further directed to conduct such review by 7 soliciting and obtaining expressions from local community groups in 8 order to be properly informed as to problems being experienced within 9 the area served by the Washington state ferries. In order that local 10 representation may be established, the department shall give prior 11 notice of the review to the ferry advisory committees.

(2) The legislative authorities of San Juan, Skagit, Clallam, and 12 Jefferson counties shall each appoint a committee to consist of five 13 members to serve as an advisory committee to the department or its 14 designated representative in such review. The legislative authorities 15 16 of other counties that contain ferry terminals shall appoint ferry 17 advisory committees consisting of three members for each terminal area in each county, except for Vashon Island, which shall have one 18 19 committee, and its members shall be appointed by the Vashon/Maury Island community council. If the Vashon/Maury Island community 20 council fails to appoint a qualified person to fill a vacancy within 21

1 <u>ninety days of the occurrence of the vacancy, the legislative</u> 2 <u>authority of King county shall appoint a qualified person to fill the</u> 3 <u>vacancy</u>. At least one person appointed to each ferry advisory 4 committee shall be representative of an established ferry user group 5 or of frequent users of the ferry system. Each member shall reside in 6 the vicinity of the terminal that the advisory committee represents.

7 (3) The members of the San Juan, Clallam, and Jefferson county ferry advisory committees shall be appointed for four-year terms. The 8 initial terms shall commence on July 1, 1982, and end on June 30, 9 1986. Any vacancy shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired 10 term by the appointing authority. At least one person appointed to 11 12 the advisory committee shall be representative of an established ferry-user group or of frequent users of the ferry system, at least 13 one shall be representative of persons or firms using or depending 14 upon the ferry system for commerce, and one member 15 shall be 16 representative of a local government planning body or its staff. 17 Every member shall be a resident of the county upon whose advisory committee he or she sits, and not more than three members shall at 18 19 the time of their appointment be members of the same major political 20 party.

21 (4) The members of each terminal area committee shall be appointed for four-year terms. The initial terms of the members of 22 each terminal area committee shall be staggered as follows: All terms 23 shall commence September 1, 1988, with one member's term expiring 24 25 August 31, 1990, one member's term expiring August 31, 1991, and the remaining member's term expiring August 31, 1992. Any vacancy shall 26 be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term by the appointing 27 28 authority. Not more than two members of any terminal-area committee may be from the same political party at the time of their 29 appointment, and in a county having more than one committee, the 30 31 overall party representation shall be as nearly equal as possible.

32 (5) The ((chair[s])) chairs of the several committees constitute 33 an executive committee of the Washington state ferry users. The 34 executive committee shall meet twice each year with representatives 35 of the marine division of the department to review ferry system 36 issues.

37 (6) The committees to be appointed by the county legislative38 authorities shall serve without fee or compensation.