HOUSE BILL 1049

AS AMENDED BY THE SENATE

Passed Legislature - 2023 Regular Session

State of Washington 68th Legislature 2023 Regular Session

By Representatives Doglio, Bateman, Riccelli, and Ormsby; by request of Secretary of State

Prefiled 12/19/22. Read first time 01/09/23. Referred to Committee on Local Government.

1 AN ACT Relating to updating timelines for adopting county 2 commissioner district boundaries following expansion from three to 3 five commissioners; and amending RCW 36.32.0552.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

5 Sec. 1. RCW 36.32.0552 and 1990 c 252 s 3 are each amended to 6 read as follows:

If the ballot proposition receives majority voter approval, the size of the board of county commissioners shall be increased to five members as provided in this section.

10 The two newly created positions shall be filled at elections to 11 be held in the next year. The county shall, as provided in this 12 section, be divided into five commissioner districts, so that each 13 district shall comprise as nearly as possible one-fifth of the 14 population of the county. No two members of the existing board of 15 county commissioners may, at the time of the designation of such 16 districts, permanently reside in one of the five districts. The 17 division of the county into five districts shall be accomplished as 18 follows:

19 (1) The board of county commissioners shall, by the ((second
20 Monday of March)) 90th day prior to the first day of the filing

1 <u>period described in RCW 29A.24.050</u> of the year following the 2 election, adopt a resolution creating the districts;

(2) If by the ((second Tuesday of March)) 89th day prior to the 3 first day of the filing period described in RCW 29A.24.050 of the 4 year following the election the board of county commissioners has 5 6 failed to create the districts, the prosecuting attorney of the county shall petition the superior court of the county to appoint a 7 referee to designate the five commissioner districts. The referee 8 shall designate such districts by no later than ((June 1st)) the 60th 9 day prior to the first day of the filing period described in RCW 10 29A.24.050 of the year following the election. The two commissioner 11 12 districts within which no existing member of the board of county commissioners permanently resides shall be designated as districts 13 four and five. 14

--- END ---