## State of Vermont Senate Chamber



Montpelier, Vermont

## Senate Resolution

By Senator Lyons,

**S.R. 19.** Senate resolution commemorating St. Patrick's Day, celebrating the contributions of Vermonters of Irish heritage, and expressing the hope that the calm and cooperation that the 1998 Good Friday Agreement has engendered in Ireland will endure.

Whereas, Irish immigrants contributed significantly to the formation of the cultural and societal foundation of our nation, and

Whereas, 17 percent of Vermonters are of Irish heritage, the fourth highest percentage nationally, and Irish Vermonters have risen to leadership roles in many fields of endeavor, and

Whereas, Irish Americans remain proudly supportive of their ancestral homeland, and desire that Ireland be economically prosperous and at peace, and

Whereas, the lyrics and music of the songs of Ireland convey the tragedy and joy and the sorrows and glories of the Emerald Isle, and

Whereas, the American Irish State Legislators Caucus was recently established to foster and strengthen the longstanding cordial bilateral relationship between the United States and Ireland, for the continuing mutual benefit of both nations, and

Whereas, the 1998 Good Friday Agreement ushered in a new era of peace on the island of Ireland, and the calm and cooperation the agreement has engendered is of the utmost importance for future peaceful coexistence on the Emerald Isle, and

Whereas, annually, on St. Patrick's Day, Americans, regardless of their ancestral heritage, become Irish for the day and jointly celebrate their love of Ireland, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly commemorates St. Patrick's Day, celebrates the contributions of Vermonters of Irish heritage, and expresses the hope that the calm and cooperation that the 1998 Good Friday Agreement has engendered in Ireland will endure, *and be it further* 

**Resolved:** That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the National Co-Chairs of the American Irish State Legislators Caucus, and to Senator Mark Daly, the Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann (Chair of the Senate of Ireland).