No. R-461. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2010 Norwich University Cadets championship NCAA Division III men's ice hockey team.

(H.C.R.323)

Offered by: Representatives Poirier of Barre City, Donahue of Northfield, Grad of Moretown and McFaun of Barre Town

Offered by: Senators Scott, Cummings and Doyle

Whereas, the Norwich University Cadets men's ice hockey team enthralled its fans as its season-long centennial commemoration could not have been more historic, starting with an opening game victory over the University of New England, and

Whereas, in early March, the first-seeded Cadets clinched their eighth
ECAC East Tournament title with a solid 4–1 win over Babson College, and
Whereas, the ECAC victory earned the Cadets an automatic bid into the
NCAA Division III tournament with the ultimate prize being a national
championship which Norwich previously had won in 2000 and 2003, and
Whereas, the No. 1-ranked Cadets opened the first round of the NCAA

Division III championship competition at Kreitzberg Arena against Elmira College, and, trailing 1–0 with less than a minute of regulation time remaining, scored a season-saving goal, sending the game into overtime, and

Whereas, at just slightly over two minutes into the first overtime period, the Cadets secured a sudden victory with a timely goal, gaining the team a much-sought-after berth in the NCAA Division III frozen four at the Herb Brooks Arena at Lake Placid, New York, and

No. R-461 Page 2

Whereas, in the semifinal frozen four game at Lake Placid, Norwich topped Plattsburgh State University 3–2, advancing the Cadets into the championship game against St. Norbert College, and

Whereas, in the decisive game, Norwich scored first with a power play goal at 11:30 in the first period, and

Whereas, St. Norbert evened the score at 9:36 in the second period which was how the game stood at the end of regulation play, and

Whereas, after a scoreless first overtime period, during the 100th minute of play in the team's 100th season, Norwich scored the winning goal, ending the longest NCAA Division III men's ice hockey game ever played, and making the 26–1–4 Cadets the 2010 champions, and

Whereas, Cadet hockey players Pasha Kozhokin, Steve Coon, Owen Carpino, Tyler Stitt, Shawn Baker, Scott Schroeder, Matt McCann, Craig Serino, Greg Eskedjian, Blake Forkey, Pier-Oliver Cotnoir, Kyle Thomas, Steven Schroeder, Eric Siegel, Emmond Bell, Craig Carbonneau, Chad Anderson, Igor Martinez, DJ Fimiani, Tim Houston, Colin Mulvey, Tory Allen, Mark Collins, Nate Ayotte, Alex Dubois, Ryan Klingensmith, Nate Ayotte, and Eric Tallent made this fantastic season possible, team manager Justin Campana helped with many administrative details, and athletic trainer Nikki Therrien helped keep the players in the best possible playing condition, and

No. R-461 Page 3

Whereas, head coach Mike McShane guided the Cadets to their third NCAA Division III title with the welcome support of assistant coaches Steve Mattson, Cory Gustafson, and Fred Coan, and

Whereas, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to his team's historic season, Mike McShane has been awarded the Edward Jeremiah Award as the 2010 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year, now therefore be it

## Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2010 Norwich University

Cadets championship NCAA Division III men's ice hockey team, and be it

further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Mike McShane and the Norwich University athletic department.