No. R-410. House concurrent resolution congratulating the University of Vermont 2012 NCAA championship skiing team.

(H.C.R.319)

Offered by: Representatives Pugh of South Burlington, Jewett of Ripton, Frank of Underhill, Greshin of Warren, Howard of Cambridge, Krowinski of Burlington, McCullough of Williston, Pearson of Burlington, Ram of Burlington and Till of Jericho

<u>Whereas</u>, the University of Vermont (UVM) had not won an NCAA skiing championship since 1994, and in 2012, the team traveled to Bridger Bowl and Bohart Ranch in Bozeman, Montana, optimistic that this would be a special year for the Catamounts, and

Whereas, in women's giant slalom competition, UVM's Kate Ryley

finished second while Elli Terwiel was fifth, and

Whereas, the UVM Nordic team turned in an especially memorable

performance in the 15K classic women's race as UVM senior Amy Glen

finished first, while Catamounts Lucy Garrec and Caitlin Patterson came in

third and fifth, respectively, and the 20K men's Nordic classic featured a great

third-place finish for UVM's Franz Bernstein, and

<u>Whereas</u>, with only the final day's slalom competition remaining, the Catamounts held a 92-point lead over second-place Utah, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the woman's slalom competition had UVM's Kate Ryley winning, making her the first Catamount woman to win the slalom since 1994, and

<u>Whereas</u>, teammate Kristina Riis-Johannessen was close behind in second place and Elli Terwiel finished fifth, and

VT LEG 279143.1

<u>Whereas</u>, the men's slalom was equally exciting with Catamounts Tim Kelly and Jonathan Nordbotten finishing second and fifth, and

<u>Whereas</u>, when all the skiing had concluded, UVM had garnered a record 832 points, the most ever for an NCAA skiing championship, and 10 Catamounts earned 17 All-American citations, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the outstanding Nordic Catamount skiers included Franz Bernstein, Rogan Brown, Caitlin Curran, Gage Fichter, Lucy Garrec, Amy Glen, Dylan Graid, Ania Gruber, Peter Hegman, Fritz Horst, Alex Howe, Janey McClelland, Alicia Pastore, Caitlin Patterson, Scott Patterson, Marisa Rorabaugh, and Cole Talbot, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the superb Alpine Catamount skiers consisted of Travis Dawson, Kevin Drury, Bobby Farrell, Colton Hardy, Sean Higgins, Tim Kelley, Amanda McDonald, Jonathan Nordbotten, Kristina Riis-Johannessen, Kate Ryley, Elise Tefre, Elli Terwiel, and Taylor Wunsch, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the entire UVM skiing staff, including Director of Skiing and Head Alpine Coach Bill Reichelt, assistant alpine coach Johnny Davidson, Head Nordic Coach Patrick Weaver, assistant Nordic coach Andrew Johnson, volunteer assistant coach Fred Fayette, athletic trainers Steve Basiel and Kristen O'Connell, athletic performance coach Justin Smith, and coordinator of student–athlete development Cathy Rahill, supported these dedicated athletes throughout the memorable 2011–2012 skiing season, now

VT LEG 279143.1

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the University of Vermont 2012

NCAA championship skiing team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Bill Reichelt at the University of Vermont.