Page 1 of 1

2018

No. R-388. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2018 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship boys' ice hockey team.

(H.C.R.314)

Offered by: Representatives Myers of Essex, Bancroft of Westford, Dunn of Essex, Giambatista of Essex, and Houghton of Essex

Whereas, the remarkable ice hockey legacy, including 14 Division I titles, that legendary former coach Bill O'Neil created at Essex High School endured in 2018, and

Whereas, the second-seeded Hornets, after a demanding round of prior playoff games, faced off against the third-seeded Spaulding High School Crimson Tide for the 2018 Division I title, and

Whereas, within five minutes of the opening face-off, the many Essex fans watching the action at the University of Vermont's Gutterson Fieldhouse saw a combination of well-executed goal-scoring plays, three in the first period and one each in the second and third, plus a persistent defense as the Hornets shut out the Crimson Tide 5–0 and won a 15th Division I crown, and

Whereas, Hornets Benjamin Laplant, Grady Cram, Samuel Couture, Waylon Almeida, Jonah Janaro, Sam Gibbs, Ryan Young, Jared Almeida, Christopher Blanco, Charles Wiegand IV, Ryan Clark, Maverick King, Jason Smith, Gordon Schmalz, Nathan Theriault, Isaac Johnson, William Couture, Maxwell Line, Tobias Martin, Owen Young, Tyler Millette, Ian Amaliksen, Willem Barwin, Samuel Foster, Joseph Maher, and Paul Gordon shot and passed the puck with precision, and

Whereas, first-year Head Coach Chris Line and assistant coaches Kerry Weibe, Tyler Peckham, and Dean Corkum have inaugurated a great new era on the ice for Essex, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Essex High School Hornets Division I championship boys' ice hockey team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Essex High School.