No. R-498. House concurrent resolution congratulating the first Vermont Career and Technical Education Presidential Scholar nominees.

(H.C.R.309)

Offered by: Representatives Russell of Rutland City, Burditt of West Rutland, Canfield of Fair Haven, Carr of Brandon, Cupoli of Rutland City, Devereux of Mount Holly, Fagan of Rutland City, Frank of Underhill, French of Randolph, Gage of Rutland City, Helm of Fair Haven, McCoy of Poultney, Potter of Clarendon, Ryerson of Randolph, Shaw of Pittsford, Terenzini of Rutland Town, and Till of Jericho

Offered by: Senators Collamore, Flory, Mullin, Ashe, Baruth, Lyons, MacDonald, McCormack, Nitka, Sirotkin, Snelling, Westman, and Zuckerman

<u>Whereas</u>, since 1964, the federal government (and, since 1980, through the U.S. Department of Education (USDOE)) has honored outstanding high school seniors as Presidential Scholars, based on either their exceptional performance on national college entrance examinations or outstanding scholarship, and

Whereas, beginning in 1979, talented students in the visual, creative, or performing arts became eligible for selection as Presidential Scholars, and

<u>Whereas</u>, prior to the 2015–2016 academic year, students enrolled in career technical education (CTE) programs were not eligible for selection as Presidential Scholars, but USDOE has established a new category of Presidential Scholars for deserving CTE students, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the chief school officer of each state nominates academically outstanding CTE students for USDOE consideration as potential Presidential Scholars, and

<u>Whereas</u>, in Vermont, the Secretary of Education has selected five outstanding CTE Presidential Scholar nominees: Jonah Farrow of Mt. Holly (Stafford Technical Center [Mt. St. Joseph Academy]–Public Safety Services Law Enforcement), Kelsey Jacobs of Braintree (Randolph Technical Career Center [Randolph Union High School]– Environmental Resources Management), Abigail Wright of Castleton (Stafford Technical Center [Fair Haven Union High School]–Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Education), Robert Popeleski of Jericho (Center for Technology–Essex [Mt. Mansfield Union High School]–Computer Animation and Web Design 2), and Lydia Stricker of Jericho (Burlington Technical Center [Mt. Mansfield Union High School]–Medical and Sports Sciences), and

Whereas, each of these students exemplifies the best of CTE, now therefore be it

<u>Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:</u>

That the General Assembly congratulates the first Vermont Career and Technical Education Presidential Scholar nominees, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each honored student and his or her respective technical center.