No. R-391. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 Burlington High School Seahorses Division I championship boys' basketball team.

## (H.C.R.302)

Offered by: Representatives Donovan of Burlington, Cole of Burlington, Gonzalez of Winooski, Krowinski of Burlington, McCormack of Burlington, O'Sullivan of Burlington, Pearson of Burlington, Rachelson of Burlington, Ram of Burlington, Sullivan of Burlington, and Wright of Burlington

Offered by: Senators Ashe and Baruth

<u>Whereas</u>, the Burlington Seahorses boys' basketball team dribbled and shot the ball into the playoffs with the top-seeded ranking, and

<u>Whereas</u>, they continued their winning ways into the Division I championship game at the University of Vermont's Patrick Gymnasium where they were matched against the Rice Green Knights, the Division I champions for the past three years, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the capacity crowd on hand included fans of both teams, giving each player the sense of playing both a home and an away game, and

<u>Whereas</u>, with a boost from their outscoring Rice 17–5 in the fourth quarter, the Seahorses won the game 37–29, clinched the 2016 Division I title, and won their first championship since 2008 and their 21st in team history, and

<u>Whereas</u>, accomplished Burlington players included Mike DeMaggio, Kujtim Hashani, Mentor Hashani, Asmin Mostarlic, Connor Johnson, Haji Haji, Kaden Rosamilia, Casey Stouffer, Yasin Abdi, Kevin Garrison, Josh Hale, Gunnar Bierbaumn, and Almir Konjohovac, and

<u>Whereas</u>, coaches Matt Johnson, Tom Baron, BJ Roberson, and Tyler Barron inspired the boys to play their best, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2016 Burlington High School Seahorses Division I championship boys' basketball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Burlington High School.